Jodi Picoult: Nineteen Minutes

{alright. This blog has made a liar out of me the last few months, and I won’t allow it any more. getting this blog BACK on the “all about writing” train.}

You don’t need for me to tell you that Jodi Picoult is an amazing writer. The fact that her books are made into movies alone should prove that to you. But, I am here to tell you that I admire the way she writes. Being a person who typically likes, for lack of a better term, chick-lit novels, I was sincerely blown away by Jodi Picoult’s style.
I actually read this book over the summer and have been dying to review it for some time now, but I just didn’t know exactly where to start. I had to be convinced to read her books. As I said before, I usually stick to the lighter story lines, and I just wasn’t sure that I would like anything she had to write. Uhm. I was wrong. Very very wrong. She has quickly become one of my favorite writers. I admire her ability to carefully craft a masterpiece that keeps you glued the entire way.
Nineteen Minutes is told by several narrators. You get to watch the story unfold from all points of view. i love that. Picoult also drops little hints throughout the novel that keep you guessing the outcome of the mystery. I don’t want to give away too much about the plot of the story because as someone who never and I mean never! reads the back or inside cover of a book before reading it, I don’t want to spoil things for you. But it is ultimately a story following several individuals affected by a school shooting.
I highly recommend picking up this novel. It will have you reexamining your relationships and the way you treat the people around you.
Jodi Picoult has certainly got me reexamining my writing style. From a writing point of view, I am truly intrigued by the way she choreographs the characters and each chapter, giving just enough information to keep you wanting more. I have gotten in the habit of reading to write, which can get annoying sometimes when all you want to do is sit down with a good book. But I once had a writing professor who told our class to get out there and read the good, the bad and the ugly. So I guess that’s what I’m doing. And I’m here to tell you that Jodi Picoult’s Nineteen Minutes is one of the good!
to be directed to amazon.com to purchase this novel, click here.
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

