amar: to love.

I don’t know how to do a lot of things. I don’t know how to play football. I don’t know how to do long division. I don’t know how to spell a lot of words. I don’t know how to use a broiler. I don’t know how to calm myself down when I lose my temper. I don’t know how to convince someone to do something they don’t want to. There is a lot that I just don’t know how to do.

But I do know how to love. I love so well. I am a hopeless romantic, and I am in tune with my heart. I know how to listen to my heart. I can feel when it’s happy and when it hurts. I make most decisions based on love. I only do what I love, and I love what I do. I only surround myself with people that I love. I do not have friends. I only have best friends. I love each person in my life in such a different and wonderful way; but what they all have in common is the fact that I love them.
K and I were talking the other night about love, and how it has many forms. You can feel love. You can do love. You can be love. But have you ever thought when you’re telling the people you love that maybe it isn’t as much of a feeling as it is a verb? Think about that the next time you tell your husband or wife that you love them. As in, it is something that you are doing. Always. While you’re washing the dishes. While you’re folding the laundry. While you’re screaming at them to pick up their socks or to put the toilet seat down. You are loving them. Think about it. If more people thought of love as a verb instead of just a feeling, maybe there wouldn’t be so many divorces.
For instance… I used to question whether or not I had the right to call myself a writer when…get this…I wasn’t writing. And the truth is, no. I couldn’t call myself a writer. In order to be a writer, one must write. So in order to be a lover…one must love. Do love. Be love. Feel love.

So I might not be a wonderful writer. But I’m a writer. And I’m a writer who writes with her heart. And that is something that won’t ever change. And when I tell you that I love you, it isn’t just something I’m feeling, it’s something that I’m doing.
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to amar: to love.

  1. Anonymous says:

    This was beautiful Jo! :)C

Leave a Reply

