2010: a year of change!

Happy New Year, everyone! This year brings so many new experiences, challenges and changes my way. I am sincerely excited to see all of these events unfold. This may be, for a very long time at least, the biggest year of my life. I didn’t know it as a child, but 2010 is the year that I’ve waited my whole life for. I get to marry my best friend this year, and I can’t believe this year is finally upon us.
First, per usual, I will list out my goals for this month:
January Goals:
input all characters into storyist*
read a novel*
continue to blog several times/week
personal journal every day {on dec 27th I started a new challenge similar to my 100 day blogging challenge except for my personal journal. I will be journaling every day for 100 days}
Submit chapters 9-13 to Z
attend tailoring appointment for wedding gown
get printing estimates
get invites to printer
begin assembly invites {homemade, I might be crazy :)}
organize all wedding documents
clean out pink bins on baker’s rack
clean out clear bins
Make a list of VHSs {will try to replace with DVDs eventually & sell off VHSs}
* post with a star at the end are incomplete goals from December’s list

As promised, here are some things that I’d like to see happen in 2010. Some may be frivolous and some may be huge, but thus is the exciting roller coaster I will be on this year.
January: see above :)
February: begin to realize how much I miss j & start freaking out a bit. work on homemade invitations like a mad-woman because I will have waited til the last minute and be crunched for time. Hopefully I’ll get to celebrate Valentine’s day in Athens with J, and he’ll hopefully make a trip to Raleigh for our meeting with the priest.
March: Rock an awesome bridal portrait shoot with mrs. nancy ray, send out homemade invitations and start freaking out a bit when I realize the wedding isn’t too far off. Miss J more and more each day and long for the day we will be close again.
April: Official panic will settle in. I will rely more and more on my maid of honor and bridesmaids to keep my cool. I’ll be running around like a crazy lady attempting to get all last minute things done ahead of time so I won’t have to worry about them in May.
May: Pure excitement, joy and anticipation will settle in. I’ll become the crazy-lady I tried to avoid in April due to all the things I procrastinated and will now have to do. I’ll also be moving my belongings into our first place and living out of a suitcase for the remainder of the month. On May 22, 2010, I will become a married lady then set off on a fabulous honeymoon with my new husband. On the last day of May, J and I will return home together and start our married lives.
June: celebrate my birthday as a newly wed in wedded bliss. Adjust to sharing everything and miss my best friend like crazy and convince her to come visit me to help me put the finishing touches on our place. I’m sure the puppyshake meter will run low quickly.
July: host our first Fourth of July cookout and invite all our friends to come visit
August: send my hubby off to his second semester of grad school with a sack lunch because I’ll be that kind of wife :) Perhaps start my new career.
September: most likely make a trip to either Raleigh or Charlotte to celebrate bff’s birthday. Ease into the routine of work/school/marriage/etc.
October: begin decorating the house for the fall and become excited about the first weather/season change in our new home. Celebrate halloween by passing out candy to what will hopefully be lots of neighborhood kiddos :)
November: travel to Raleigh to celebrate Thanksgiving with our families and kick of our first married holiday season. Knock out any kinks in our “visit family” plan.
December: Wake up in our very own home on Christmas morning together for the first time. Exchange thoughtful gifts by our first live tree.
J and I would also like to become very devoted to a church once all settled and perhaps get a dog. We certainly have one crazy year ahead of us!
I would also like to finish my first novel and send it out for queries for an agent. My fingers are crossed that I will someday become a published author.
Happy New Year, everyone!
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2010: a year of change!

  1. Lori says:

    I hope you'll be able to fit in a trip to the big city of Atlanta, somewhere during those months, to visit your cousin who has just relocated because of her husband's job!

Leave a Reply

