.when you’re missing someone at Christmastime.

When you’re missing someone at Christmastime, everything seems a little bitter sweet. I know most of my generation who are now on the “other side” of Christmas where some of the magic is sucked out of it a bit would agree that we have recently found other things to be excited for at Christmas rather than the presents and fun. It’s the family togetherness. And when parts of that family are missing, family togetherness seems a little more special and a little bit harder.
When you’re missing someone at Christmastime, things seem quieter. Things seem more solemn. And though we miss them all year round, at Christmastime it’s a little harder to swallow.
When I hear that Christmas song: I’ll be home for Christmas, it makes me a little sad. It used to be one of my favorite songs because as someone who comes from such a giant family, I always used to dream of my entire family being home for Christmas. And now, no matter how many of us are gathered around, we’ll never all be here, and that’s hard. There is a deafening silence that surrounds all happy occasions. It’s not enough to bring the entire holiday or special occasion down simply because my family is large and strong and we have fabulous coping methods for keeping our loved one’s spirits alive, but it’s noticeable none-the-less.
So I guess what my point is, is please cherish your holidays with the ones you love. Don’t get agitated with to much “togetherness.” Soak it all in, because you never know when it’ll be your last. I know that sounds incredibly sad especially at Christmastime, but I sure wish someone wold have let me know it would have been my last Christmas with my Uncle. I would have liked to know that it would be the last time he came barreling through the back door with piles of his presents on Christmas afternoon. I wish I would have known it would be the last Christmas that he would fall asleep and snore so stupidly loudly in the recliner of the couch. If only I had known–it wouldn’t hurt any less now, but maybe I wouldn’t have taken him for granted like I had. I just always thought he’d be around.
And now when I think about it, how this is our third Christmas without him, I wonder how we’ve done it. And that’s how I know there’s a God. And that’s how I know it’s okay to believe in the power of spirits. Because no matter how much I miss him, and no matter what I’d trade to see him and hug him again, I always know that he is right here, in my heart and on our minds not only on Christmas, but every single day he is missing from our lives.
And so, Merry Christmas to you all. May it be filled with Peace, Joy and Love. And remember that Jesus is the Reason for the Season.
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

