organization

I might be a little organized-obsessed. I get it from my mother, I swear. And she’s even worse {or better?} than I am. While I was in school, I kept my agenda up to date–and it even got to the point that if it wasn’t written down for a specific day…it didn’t get done. Some may ridicule this way of living, but sometimes I swear I’d die if I wasn’t reminded to breathe every once in a while. So, in a way, my methods of organization remind me to breathe.

I am a masterful to-do list maker. I’ve also found that creating a list and viewing the projects in a prioritized manor really do help with getting things accomplished. I also have more than one planner. While I would usually frown on this method, while planning a wedding it is necessary! Also, I am keeping a wedding planner separate from my regular planner because it will later serve for a type of “journal,” I suppose when I’m feeling reminiscent about this whirl-wind of a year. My daily planner helps me keep track of where I need to be and what needs to get done; and then come the to-do lists. Those can be big or small. Sometimes when I know in my head that there are so many things to get done {clean the bathroom, vacuum, take out the trash, simple things really} and I’m lacking the necessary motivation to do them, I simply write them out in a to-do list fashion ranking from the one I want to do least first all the way through. I have been impressed with how that method works!
Then comes technology. I use it all to the max. iCalendar has saved my life on more than one occasion. Another program that I love to use is things {grr…can’t get the link to work, but it’s for macs}. I will admit that my email up until this point was not organized. In fact, I had emails dating back to the second day I had this computer in my INBOX…yes, I know; that’s inexcusable. But now I am equipped with handy dandy sub-inboxes that allow me to organize said emails and keep my inbox at zero. Makes for breathing easier, I promise. I will also admit that I use the blackberry for more entertainment purposes than an organization method, but I do adore the built-in calendar with automatic reminders.
So if you are not an organized person, maybe you should try it out for a new years resolution. And if you ARE an organized person, maybe you can find a new method {those are always fun}.
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

