glee VS marching band

Let’s talk a little about the new TV show that is apparently all the rage: Glee. For the first few weeks that Glee was on, I actually thought it was some kind of high school musical singing reality tv show where people got voted off…like on American Idol. I was wrong.

Since I have been laid up the last few days with amazing back pain {and no health insurance} I accidentally caught Glee on TV on Wednesday night. And I wasn’t all that impressed. I was a little lost and thought the characters were weird. Yes, says the girl who was in marching band in high school: I thought the Glee kids were weird…and that guidance counselor Emma Pillsbury was just plain, uhm…bizarre.
But then, out of curiosity {and sheer boredom} I migrated over to Project Free TV and decided to watch the show from the beginning. And to my surprise…I was hooked!
Watching the show brings so many memories from marching band {yes…I was that kid}. And despite all the drama experienced in band…I look back on those days so fondly. And now that I have completely caught up on the season, I realize that there will always be those kids in high school. They don’t have to be handicapped. They don’t have to be retarded. But for some reason, they just don’t belong.
We had clicks inside of clicks inside of clicks in marching band. Yes, for those of you who don’t know–there were even “popular” kids within the band room. At least–popular for band kids. We would be tormented. Not necessarily individually–our high school wasn’t that bad…but we would have kids during their lunch periods {we had three different lunch periods but all band kids had to have the same} open the band room doors during our rehearsals and scream obscene things.
It finally got so bad that between the drama within the band and the torture from outside the band room, I got up on a soap box before we loaded the buses before a competition and preached about how we were all each other had and that since we don’t always belong in the outside hallways that we need to make sure we all feel at home within the four walls of our band room. Everyone was super pumped and my point was well taken. But then we lost a band member. I mean, really. She never loaded the bus. So it kind of negated my entire “we are family and we need to love each other” speech seeing as though no one noticed until we were lined up at the competition that the girl was missing.
So the point is…I like Glee. And it makes me remember fond {dramatic} memories of my good little marching band days!

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to glee VS marching band

  1. The Horn Family says:

    Glad you went back and watched from the beginging. I'm hooked too! I kept it a "secret" for a while because it's really kind of a dumb show (and I'm a grown adult, not some teeny-bopper…) :) but it's great too, isn't it?!?

Leave a Reply

