Happy {late} Thanksgiving!

Just wanted to pop in and wish everyone a very Happy Thanksgiving. Yes, I’m aware that today isn’t thanksgiving. And yes, I am aware that I have fallen off of the map a bit lately. But I have had a house full of family and since that doesn’t happen as often these days, I have been soaking it all up.
I hope that everyone got to spend their holiday with the people they love {friends that are family and family that are friends}.
Being the youngest of 5 children, I didn’t grow up having quiet holidays. In fact, my holidays often included yelling, crying, laughing and picking. It’s just the way we do things. So now that all of my siblings are all grown up, married off and have children of their own…I am left in the house {gasp} alone for the holidays.
Well this year, I begged one of my sisters {who lives nearby} to get out of whatever in-law commitments she had: “don’t you dare make me spend thanksgiving alone at a table with just mom and dad.” Not that I have any problems with either my mom or my dad, I am just not a big fan of quiet holidays. It might as well be just another day in that case. No… as a baby of five children, I should NEVER have to have quiet holidays.
Well we all got a pleasant surprise as my oldest sister’s husband is a little nutty {and a giant family man}. He decided at the last minute to gather up the kids {all three of them} and truck it on down to NC from Indiana for the Holiday! Most of my family knew only a couple days in advanced {me, my mom, my sister, brother etc} but we decided not to tell my dad. Let me tell you, HE WAS SO SURPRISED when they all came walking in on Thursday afternoon! What a great LOUD Thanksgiving dinner we had!
Then tonight {since the family was still in town} my brother, his wife, their 1 year old and his wife’s mother traveled in somewhat unexpectedly from Greensboro to join us all for another big, loud meal! Again, another surprise for my father! {i’m surprised he hasn’t had a heart attack yet!}
So this year, even though I am thankful for a whole lot, I am most thankful for a loud, big, crazy, supportive family!
Enjoy a few photos {ok. i bought a camera that i don’t know how to use. so ninety percent of my photos are blurry. i apologize. reading manual now :)}

{my brother-in-law carving the turkey!}
{my sisters sharing a moment as their daughters walk their babies}

{grandpa [my father] plays football with my nephews while my nieces interrupt :)}
{believe it or not this is only a small fraction of my rather large family around our dining room table for thanksgiving dinner–sorry for the blur}


About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

