.the joey flare.

Let’s discuss something they call the joey flare. When I’m telling a story or expressing the way I feel about something is when it can be detected. I tell things the way I see them, which isn’t exactly how they may have a) happened or b) how other people perceived them. It’s not a lie necessarily but some kind of exaggeration of events in order to emphasize their affect on me in particular.

I have always been somewhat of a story teller, but I just didn’t ever realize that people saw this as an obvious quality that I posess. I also never thought that people would see this as an admirable quality or something endearing. I know that I possess the joey flare but I’m somewhat embarrassed by it on most occasions {especially if it goes detected.}

Well, last night while at dinner with my broder, he straight up called it out in a very tasteful and tactful way. In fact, at first it was funny. K & I died laughing as he traced a curve in the air with his finger exclaiming “the joey flare” as I was speaking. But then a switch clicked inside of me and I was suddenly hurt and very offended. I’m not exactly sure why this was, but I think it had something to do with the fact that I realized that no matter what I said {or how I felt} it would always be chalked up to the joey flare and my feelings were being discredited.

I know the joey flare exists. I am and always have been {and probably always will be} a very over-dramatic person. But in most instances I use the joey flare as a tool to explain how things seem to me. And that… well, that will always be dramatic.

It’s the writer in me.

examples of the joey flare in use {trivially}
Joey drank one glass of wine. {Gosh, I must have had about three glasses of wine last night.}
Joey doesn’t like her current job. {Guys, out of all the jobs I’ve ever had, this one has been the worst.}
Joey is driving sixty miles per hour. {I must have been going 80.}
Joey is slightly hungry. {I’m so hungry I could eat your arm.}
Joey is overwhelming stressed. {I feel like I want to curl up and die.}

I think you get the point. so now you know.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

