{joke’s on you} drama

Do ya’ll remember drama? I mean, good old fashioned mean girl drama. The kind of drama that can make a teenage girl wish to hide underneath a rock until graduation day. The kind of drama portrayed in mean girls. And while mean girls was a super overdramatization of what high school is really like, it was fairly accurate, which is probably why it was so wildly popular aside from the casting of beautiful popular actresses.

Man! Do I remember the drama. I remember finding stupid signs like “Joey’s a hefer” taped to my locker. I remember my house getting tee-peed by a group of mean girls from my psych class {i actually fell out of a tree while trying to clean it up before my dad got home and sprained my ankle!} I remember my mom calling me to let me know that someone left a big orange traffic cone reading “slut joey” at the bottom of my driveway. I remember finding mean things written about me in people’s away messages. I remember it all.

There are always going to be people who cause drama in our lives. No matter how old or young we are. But looking back, I can’t believe we survive those things. I also can’t believe that people can be so ugly.

And from reading my “drama,” you might think that I was a mean girl. You would think I was a slut. You would think I deserved those things. But really, I wasn’t, and I didn’t. I always tried to be nice {despite how people treated me.} I always tried to be the bigger person. Of course I acted like a generic teenager sometimes and retaliated. It’s hard not to when your entire character is being attacked for no good reason, but generally speaking I’d like to say I was a nice person.

But I was also a target. And I’m not sure exactly what made me a target, but it stayed with me all through high school. If it wasn’t someone grades above me tearing me down, there were always people in my own class to do the job. And then came the underclassmen who believed they were gods. No really–they did! In fact, most of the drama I had all through high school was created by one specific mean girl who was YEARS younger than I was. In my high school, there was no respect.

So, how do you deal with said drama? How do you face your classmates when someone is spreading rumors about you that for some reason everyone is believing? Everyone has different methods of coping. And I wasn’t always very strong. Of course I’d spend evenings crying in my room wondering why my friends were so mean. I remember praying that God would just eliminate them from my life. At that age, I didn’t understand. In fact, at my current age I still don’t understand. Sometimes people are just mean.

As most of you know, I am currently working on a High School novel series. And while this current project is in no way based on a true story, I do some of my research by reading through my old journals. I was an avid journaler in high school–and I suppose that was my coping method. I simply wrote it all out. I complained about the people who were mean to me, and I made promises to myself not to let them break me down. I have to think that the reason I wasn’t a meaner person in high school was because I vented everything I wanted to say to all these people’s friends in my journal instead, which allowed me to stay ahead of the game.

You know, I never got away from that drama all through high school. In fact–the cone incident occured even AFTER graduation. You can make all sorts of speculations about why people treat certain people a specific way, but we won’t ever really know why.

So my challenge to myself is to perhaps journal a little bit more these days. I’m not quite sure when I fell out of my journaling habits, but I’m lucky if I write in my personal journal once or twice a week. But I also expload a whole lot more these days.

Tell me, how did YOU deal with your drama? Do you have a specific “drama” memory? Share it. It only makes us stronger. It really does.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to {joke’s on you} drama

  1. Anonymous says:

    dang girl, lol, that's rough.

Leave a Reply

