she had a bad day again

When I have a bad day, there isn’t much that can lift my spirits despite my true efforts. No matter how much I surround myself with happy fragrant candles or how much of a favorite TV show I watch on DVD, there resides a heavy weight on my heart that usually time {or a really good cry} can only lift.

When I have a bad day, I usually ignore all of my responsibilities. I ignore my writing schedule for the day and wallow in sad songs that ultimately only make me feel worse.
Well, today I had a bad day. A really bad day. And to be honest, I can’t really pin down the source. I’m sure the stress of everything that’s going on these days is getting to me, but I also think a lot of it sits on the fact that I’m realizing more and more every single day that I am just not destined for office work. Call me crazy, but I just don’t like being the office b*tch. And I apologize that that puts me in a terrible mood.
But today was one of those bad days that I had to continuously remind myself that I couldn’t cry because I was at work. So instead I watched the clock anxiously awaiting leaving hour so I could escape to my car where I’d let the tears flow freely. But much to my demise, after a pretty hefty sob in the car and a smaller version of the same cry inside the tanning bed {yes, with the little goggles on and all} I was still feeling funky.
I was already a day behind on my writing for this week because I spent last night at my personal mac genius’s house {aka broder} upgrading my system, and I really didn’t want to miss another night of writing, so I decided to plow through anyway.
And I have to say, I am impressed with the power of letting your mind drift to another world and getting lost inside your characters. I’ve always been a firm believer in becoming your story, but I never realized the lifting power it could have on a bad day. Breathe in and out. The weight has been lifted. For now, at least. Until tomorrow, I suppose.
In case you’re wondering, I’ll share some of my “wallow” playlist.
song for you Alexi Murdoch
hurricane Jonah Werner
untouchable Taylor Swift
breathe Alexi Murdoch
forever & always Taylor Swift
if no one will listen Keri Noble
There are plenty more, but for today those are the ones that most frequently seeped from my earbuds.
Here’s to a better tomorrow.
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

