a chick flick reality

So I’m pretty into chick flicks.  I’m a sucker for the work-hard-for-what-you-want-with-wildly-rewarding-consequences kind of story-lines.  If you browse through my movie collection, it would probably make you sick {unless, of course, you are into chick flicks, too}  I’m not entirely sure why, but they give me hope.  Not necessarily because of their {love stories} but because the protagonists often find themselves in the midst of something terrible and work their way out of it, making the end payoff that much better.  That, my friends, gives me hope.  And if that makes me a loser, then so be it.

When I was in college, I worked in a bar.  I worked long hard hours waiting on people of all walks of life.  But my most frequent customers {or regulars} were a different breed.  They were redneck.  They said whatever they were thinking… always.  And most often, I loved it.  I’d find myself sweeping at the end of the night.  The bar emptying out as the patrons’ nights were ending.  A solemn song would come on the radio, and I would think to myself about how maybe that was my “midst of something terrible” phase to work my way out of.  I worked hard at work.  I worked hard at school.  I was struggling to pay my bills.  And in those quiet moments at the end of my shift, I almost always thought about those chick flicks I’d watched so many times.
But truthfully, my life is a series of beginnings and endings of different chick flicks with different in-the-midst-of-something-terrible-and-hard-that-i-must-work-myself-through.  This is often because of my job de jour.  
In fact, just this week I found myself dazing off in the midst of some mind numbing project that my boss insisted I do.  My earbuds pouring songs into my head that always make me feel.  And I all but thought aloud there has to be something more.  there has to be something better than this. 
Will I get my happy chick-flick ending?
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

