living plan b

…if you want to hear God laugh, tell him your plans…

i am a gigantic planner.  every move i make is premeditated.  everything i want, i think about.  every choice i make, i weigh the options.  planning… it’s a comfort thing for me.  in fact– when i first got engaged, i actually said “the engagement means nothing if we don’t have a date set.”  plans.  once again, for me solidify things.  
and then, when plans don’t work out the way i work strategically to make them, i am always left a little disappointed and frantic.  yes.  i do this to myself.  
you can have everything planned and mapped out–and everything can change on a dime.  it’s in those situations that you have to find the most important things and cling to them.  
today’s assignment: tell me about a time when things didn’t go according to plan:

Graduation was around the corner, and I couldn’t have been more excited.  I was done with the small-town life.  I had exhausted it.  I was going stir crazy.  My best friend and I had it all worked out.  We would move to Charleston, SC.  We would get jobs that would pay [no less than] $10 an hour, and we would start our grown up lives.  We would get a cute little apartment in a complex with a pool that would be filled with people our age who were dying to be our best friends.  We would grow close with our co-workers, and we would meet up for cocktails after work in the city.  We would attend grad school at CofC just to have the experience of attending school there–not for the degree. Duh.  Our parents would be so proud of us, and people would beg to visit us in our wonderful new life.  We would sit up at night in our cute living room sipping wine admiring everything.  We would make tasty dinners that would be an experience in themselves as neither of us really knew how to cook.  Experiments was our word for recipes.  I would eventually happen across a book deal [without an actual book really written], and she would work her way up in a PR firm.  We had it all worked out.  What could go wrong?
Graduation was weeks away, and we were broke.  Okay…maybe I was broke.  We failed to line jobs up.  You mean, those don’t just fall into our laps?  And we never took that weekend trip to look at apartments.  Not to mention the fact that neither of us had the money to put down a deposit or actually furnish one.  Our plan, we were quickly realizing, was more of a fantastic dream.  And our reality, it seemed, was a grave future.  As graduation inched closer and closer, the further our plan slipped from reach.  I won’t move home, I protested.  That would be moving backwards!  
But soon, it was time to load up my borrowed furniture and make a move.  A move backwards, as I so childishly called it.  Our plan was carried away with the strong Boone wind.  
******
And here I am, a year and a half later still living plan B wondering how I ever thought it possible to live plan A.  Life isn’t easy.  In fact–nothing in the last year has been easy.  So I admire those who see a dream and make it happen just like that.  Life gains us perspective, and yet I still do it.  I make all these plans and watch them fly away leaving me in the dust.  
…if you want to hear God laugh, tell him your plans…
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to living plan b

  1. Monica Sharma says:

    Good article enjoyed to read this.You often face problems like entering same matter again and again because it may not necessary be handy. However you can convert your scanned pages (jpeg/tiff/pdf) on http://www.onlinedocumentconversion.com and convert online. No need to re-enter or repeat text matter again.I feel even if you have to pay a little bit it’s worth it, because paid sites are defiantly better then unpaid sites.Caution!Avoid free sites or sites with no after sales support a NO NO.

Leave a Reply

