if I don’t care, who will? [97]

I’m Alive
Kenny Chesney
So damn easy to say that life’s so hard
Everybody’s got their share of battle scars
As for me I’d like to thank my lucky stars that
I’m alive, and well
It’d be easy to add up all the pain
And all the dreams you sat and watched go up in flames
Dwell on the wreckage as it smolders in the rain
But not me, I’m alive
And today you know that’s good enough for me
Breathin’ in and out’s a blessin’ can’t you see
Today’s the first day of the rest of my life
And I’m alive, and wellI’m alive, and well
Stars are dancin’ on the water here tonight
It’s good for the soul, when there’s not a soul in sight
But this boat has caught its wind and brought me back to life
Now I’m alive, and well
And today you know that’s good enough for me
Breathin’ in and out’s a blessing can’t you see
Today is the first day of the rest of my life
Now I’m alive, and well
Yeah I’m alive, and well
Please take a moment and read that over. Then re-read it. I beg of you. This will help you put everything in your life in perspective. When you’re having a bad day. When you’re a minute to late. When everything just seems to miss by a hair; remember this song. Remember that you will come out alive on the other side. I know we’ve all heard the over-used phrase what doesn’t kill you only makes you stronger. Well, I hate to say it, but it’s true.
It is so easy to get so lost in all of the wrong things and forget about the right ones. That’s how it is with writing for me, too. I tend to only write about the things that hurt me, the ones that stick out in my mind. And they stick out in my mind because there is strong emotion linked to them. And you all know that I’m an emotional writer. If I don’t feel it, I can’t write it.
That’s why starting a new piece for me is always so time consuming. While I’d love to just jump right in and start writing, I can’t do that. I have to spend time getting to know and love [at least care about] my characters. If I don’t care about them…how the heck will my reader care?
So I guess you could say I date my characters. I take them out of the story’s setting and get to know their history. I get to know what their favorite color is, who their heros are, what their favorite movies/books are. None of that may be crucial to the story line, but it is crucial to the demensions of the character. It may never come out that a character hates carrots, but that is still important information to know. Hating carrots catagorizes a person. Trust me, this all makes sense. :)
So for today, I leave you with this thought:
If you took away all the things that cloud your mind and weigh down on your heart… would you still be alive and well?
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

