lost at a small town fair [95]

I couldn’t have been older than seven years old. The St. Rapheals fair came every year, and since my uncle was the priest there, we went every year. It was always so much fun, and that year would be no different.

While I love the NC State fair, this fair had a home-town feeling with it. You saw many more familiar faces than strangers, and that just made a fair that much better.

It had grown dark. My mom, brother, Uncle and I were making all of the necessary stops. We had just finished playing a game where I won the coolest light up spinning wand thingy. It mesmerized me. It mesmerized me so much that when I looked up, I was standing all by myself in a sea of people. When you are seven years old, there may not be anything more terrifying than realizing you are lost. As it hit me, I started crying. Someone recognized me, but I didn’t recognize them through my tears. They tried to calm me down and locate my group. When we had no luck, they brought me to the information tent and paged my mom.

When you are seven years old and you think you’ve been lost, there is no greater feeling than seeing your family’s familiar faces.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

