stand and stare [90]

I watched every single game even though I had no idea what was going on. And to be fair, I had to be there. Whether I was instructed to play a pep song or we were just hanging out, my eyes were on him the whole time. They always were. I couldn’t ever pull myself away. I wasn’t sure what had changed after all that time, but whatever it was, it was strong and wasn’t changing back any time soon. I was pretty sure I was in love.

I was the section leader for the flutes. I know that’s super duper cool. It was nice. My girls (and guy) were great. They were kind and mostly drama-free. My section was all a section leader could ask for. Especially because most of my girls helped me keep an eye on that certain football player the entire game. They would giggle with me and be giddy with me.
But then it happened. I watched J wobble towards the sidelines in the middle of a play. Then he took off his helmet. It was one of those moments that the crowd around you disappears. I couldn’t hear anything. My eyes glassed over; they were locked on him. I watched him double over. His back was to me. Then his shoulders started to shake. he was crying. And the tears just started to pour from my eyes, but I never looked away. The drum major must have put on her one white glove because Billy Jean played in the distant background of my mind despite being smack dab in the middle of the band. I never lifted my flute. I just stood staring and crying.
The last minutes of the game ticked away slowly. My girls joined me in the standing and the staring. Some held my hand. Others put their hand on my shoulders. They did anything they could think of to console me. The man I thought I might love was doubled over in pain and crying. He was hurt, and I had no idea what was wrong. I watched his mother aid him off the field, and I marched in a daze back to the band room.
Once out of uniform, panic set in. Thoughts flew through my head and out of my mouth brainstorming what could possibly be wrong. I just wanted to know if he was going to be okay. No. I needed to know. And it being that we were forbidden from speaking to and seeing one another by his mother, finding out wouldn’t be easy.
Out of the corner of my eye I spotted a civilian (ok. ok. a non-band-member-in-the-band-room). It was J’s friend. He smiled sadly then spoke.
J wanted me to tell you that he’s going to the hospital, but he’s okay.
wait. what?
Justin, do you realize what you just said? J is okay, but he’s going to the hospital.

I couldn’t help but giggle.
Later that night when an unknown number danced across my cell phone’s screen,my heart leaped.
I just broke my hand, J said.
sheesh!
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

