.puppyshakers always last. [75]


tonight is a bundle up with socks and a sweatshirt for sleep kind of night. and i love it.

**************************************************************************************************************
We’d been best friends for what seemed like forever even though it was only three years. I’d had best friends before, but they always fell to the wayside eventually. This was the first time in my semi-adult years that I found someone who I could trust, love and be real with. And it was perfect. You know those kind of friends who just get you? The ones who laugh at the comment in your head before you make it. The ones that can anticipate your tears and start crying too, even though they have no idea what the reason for the almost tears is yet. I finally had one of those.
We’d spent almost every day together. And if we weren’t together, we were at least talking over the phone. Not a day passed where her opinion wasn’t summoned in my life. She was my go-to girl. And now it was time to say goodbye.
I wasn’t sure how the years passed so quickly, but before I knew it graduation had come and gone, and summer had quickly faded right in front of our eyes. It was the eve of our college departures, and instead of being full of excitement and wonderful “roommate” plans, we were full of sadness. We were moving five hours away from each other.

The day before, my mom and I had been in BJs. While we were shopping, we decided we should get her a graduation present. Something practical and necessary. Something that would be the link between us for the next four years. It broke my heart that I was anxious to give her a piece of plastic that would be our only lifeline. A portable phone. How appropriate.

It was late. Way too late to still be chatting in the dark driveway with a 5AM 5 hour drive looming. But neither of us wanted to stop talking. We knew when we ran out of things to say the only thing left would be the tears, and neither of us wanted to face those yet. It was too soon. We weren’t ready. We were best friends.
Finally, the silence got the best of us, and the inevitable tears started falling. How do you say goodbye to someone so instrumental in your life during the biggest transition you’d made thus far? It just wasn’t right, and it wasn’t fair. A tight hug was all we could muster to stifle the sobs.
This isn’t goodbye, she sniffled. It’s just see you later.

Then I watched her pull out of my driveway and drive away towards a world I wouldn’t be a part of.

J & K May 2, 2009
…but best friends last forever…
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

