empty holiday tables [74]

today’s assignment: Tell me about a family holiday  (oh this should be fun :))

My house was full of people.  Family.  And while having my family all together is always a blessing since there are so many of us, having my family all together is also a bit… difficult.  By Monday evening everyone had arrived; all nineteen of us were under the same roof.  That evening we all stayed up chatting and catching up.  My cousin and his family were in town from NY for the first time in ages.  My brother was visiting with his wife from TX.  We hadn’t seen some of these people in a good amount of time, so excitement was definitely in the air.
By Thursday, Thanksgiving (and the third day of fighting over the bathrooms), the joyful family reunion was growing a little tense.  No worries, though.  My mother was cooking up a delicious turkey storm and dinner would be served shortly.  
As you can imagine, the feat of seating nineteen people around the same table could be quite, uhm–problematic.  But once again, my dutiful mother to the rescue.  Everyone had a happy little place card in front of their assigned seat.  My mother had prepared for every mishap under the sun.  This family holiday would run smoothly!  
But then…it unraveled at the seams so quickly that there was no stopping it.  Before the food even made it’s way around the entire table the tears started flowing.
It was my senior year of high school and emotions were running high as I waited impatiently from a school any school that would accept me.  In my attempts to win friends and woo boys I kind of failed to pay attention to my grades as much as I should have.  I was then paying for it.  It was November, and I’d only heard from four schools who didn’t want me.  

Just as we sat for dinner we were discussing the new trend of some kind of furniture.  I happened to mention that I wanted one for my dorm room.  My Aunt then responded with a little jab that You have to get a dorm-room, first.  While she meant it all in good fun, I lost it.  Before the words were completely out of her mouth I was running upstairs crying.
Soon after, my sister joined me.  At first I thought she was coming up to check on me, but it didn’t take me long to discover the tears in her eyes as well.  Apparently she’d forgotten to put oil in her car and nearly ceased her engine, and someone made a quip of it.  
Before long, half my family was all up in my parent’s room unhappy.  My mother had slaved for hours in a hot kitchen for the food to sit on the table cold and untouched.  
Never worry, though.  By the end of the evening we were all eating desserts and laughing together again.  
Welcome to the Dickens’s Family :)
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

