remembering her silly soul [72]


I was reminded today of a story that made me really miss my old roommate.

It was St. Patrick’s day, however, there was nothing special to the day.  I had school then work: a typical jam packed day.  
When my alarm went off, I haphazardly turned it off with my eyes still shut and shuffled into my closet sized bathroom.  I quickly showered then ventured into the living room to finish getting ready.  Since our apartment was so small, L & I typically got ready at our wet bar in the living room.  Plus, we could watch TV in the process that way.  
When I arrived in the living room and surveyed the scene, it wasn’t difficult to come to the conclusion that L was sick.  There was a bottle of tylenol on the coffee table along with a half drunk glass of water.  There were tissues everywhere and a trash can placed strategically beside the couch.  L was asleep on the couch with her back to me.  Poor thing, I thought.  
I decided to bring my hair dryer & straightener into my bedroom so I didn’t disturb her.  It was rare for L to play the sick card, so whatever she had must be something more than just a cold.  She needed her rest.
Once I was done getting ready, I quickly ran into the kitchen which was on the other side of the couch to grab a pop-tart before running out the door.  With my pop-tart in hand, I turned to leave, and that’s when I saw it…
L’s eyes were open.  Wide open but staring at the back of the couch.  
I hesitated.  L? I called.  L? You okay?  
I waited then stepped a bit closer but only a little bit.  L?  I almost shouted.  There was no response.  Huh?  I crept to the other side of the couch and stared at the blanket covering her body examining for the raise and fall of her breath.  nothing…  
What the hell is going on.  I started to search around the living room frantically for her cell phone so I could call her parents.  Strange… her cell phone wasn’t around and neither were her keys.  I looked outside.  Her car wasn’t in the parking lot either.  What the heck!?  I felt myself start to shake.  Either someone just dropped L’s dead body in my living room, or this wasn’t L.  
Just as I started to panic I heard my cell phone sing from my bed room.  I darted across the apartment and stared confused at L’s name dancing across the screen.  What is going on…??
H-Hello?  My voice shook.  I waited impatiently for a strange voice to tell me what was going on.  
Hey!  I’m just leaving class. What are you up to? I was startled to hear L’s voice.  
L.  Do you know that there is a strange person on our couch?  My heart started racing.  If it wasn’t L on our couch, who the heck was it?
…what?
There is a stranger person asleep on our couch.  Or dead on our couch.  Their eyes are open and they aren’t breathing.  At least I don’t think they are.  
Giggling, What do you mean there’s a stranger person on our couch?
L!  I don’t know what’s going on, but you need to get home now. The urgency in my voice let her know I wasn’t joking.  I don’t know what to do, I’m scared to leave my room.
Unable to contain herself any longer, L busted out laughing.  Happy St. Patrick’s Day!
…what?
There’s no one on our couch.  Go take a closer look…





About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to remembering her silly soul [72]

  1. Lindsey Hansen's Blog says:

    Hi my name is lindsey hansen. i loved your blog and i hav one to. if i give it to you i hape that you will go to it and read my adveture story. here. http://www.hansenlindsey.blogspot.com please read it and give me a comment that would be the coolest. thanks

Leave a Reply

