the unnecessary good in people [70]

This afternoon I was reminded of the good in people.  Once again it was my duty to pick a parental unit up from the airport.  As the dutiful daughter, I arrived with plenty of time and decided to camp out at the Sheets gas station around the corner so that I’d be close enough to hop over to the terminal upon my mother’s arrival.

In learning my lesson from last week’s endeavors, I turned OFF my vehicle, unplugged my GPS and removed the keys from the ignition.  I decided it was a nice enough day to simply sit with my windows open and enjoy book 4 of the Twilight series.  
After about twenty minutes, my mom called.  She had finally arrived home after being gone nearly a month!  As I answer the phone I stuck my key in the ignition and twisted.  Once again the only response I got was a horrible clicking sound with no turn-over.  Awesome.
However, unlike last week’s episode where I was stranded in a back dark parking lot in the rain by myself, this time I was in a public gas station with plenty of activity in the middle of the day.  I figured it was okay to venture out and ask for some help.
I scanned the patrons of the gas station and decided it may be best to just go into the little store and ask for some assistance.  On my way into the store I had to pass an older gentleman pumping gas who had kind eyes and a belt above his waistline.  I figured it was worth a shot to ask.
Excuse me, sir?  If it’s not too much to ask, could I trouble you to jump me?  Er…um…I mean… my car?

The man looks up puzzled then smiles.
Well, young lady.  I would hope that you wouldn’t go up to someone and ask them to rob you.  He chuckled.  Well, I don’t know much about cars and this here is a rental and I’m not real sure where the battery is, but I’d be happy to give it a look.  
I thanked the man profusely, pointed out my little grey Camry then walked away and waited.  The man pulled up next to me and took my jumper cables.  He was very careful to explain to me exactly what he was doing In case, young lady, you ever end up in a situation where you’re stranded and need a jump off someone who knows less about cars that even I do.  He chuckled again.  
Once the cables were attached to each of our batteries he told me to go ahead and give it a go.  I got into my car and slid the key into the ignition and twisted.  Drat.  The same clicking sound.  I was just about to thank the man for his trouble and explain that I’d just have to call triple A for a tow when he spoke.  Don’t you worry now, darlin’.  This battery here is pretty darn dead.  Sometimes you gatta just let it charge up a bit.  I smiled at his patience.  We got to chatting a bit while we waiting for my battery to charge.  This kind man was from Atlanta, GA in town on business visiting the Kellogg company just down the road.  In fact, he was on his way to the airport to catch a flight.  Goodness… Bless this man’s heart.  It’s really not his responsibility to take care of me and my stupid dead car especially when he’s at the mercy of deadlined air transit.  Before I could say anything he spoke again.
Now why don’t you go give it another go.  This time I’ll rev the engine a bit to give some extra juice.  The man and I both climbed into our respective cars.  I sat waiting for his cue.  Go on ahead.  I slipped my key into the ignition and twisted.  VICTORY!  The man and I climbed out of our cars both smiling.  He explained to me the importance of taking the black cables off before the reds and keeping them clear in order to not get shocked.  We both shut our hoods and were exchanging our goodbyes when I suddenly had the urge to ask him a question.
Just before he got into his car I turned. Hey, what’s your name?

The man turned with a toothy smile.  David.

oh. 
David John!

Now my family will understand the importance of the name and car savings.  My beloved Uncle who took tremendous care of my family who passed unexpectedly two years ago was named John.  And my brother once had an eery wonderful experience with a man who materialized out of no where in the middle of the night at a closed gas station to help my brother make it the four hours home safely after my uncle had already passed.
I think it’s safe to say he’s watching out for us! :)  
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the unnecessary good in people [70]

  1. Jen Freeman says:

    Heeyyyyy, The theme in this blog entry sounds like it can be developed into a novel, or at the very least. . . series of short stories. . . .

Leave a Reply

