change [68]

Isn’t it funny how you get someplace and you don’t even know how you got there?  It’s kind of like driving on auto-pilot.  You drive the same familiar roads every day, and you know you’re paying attention enough not to get into an accident, but your mind is elsewhere–and the next thing you know you’re in your driveway but you don’t remember getting there?

Sometimes I think this is exactly how life is supposed to work.  While you’re busy working out your plans.  While you’re so caught up in the future, your life just kind of… happens.  And that is perfectly, wonderfully okay.  It amazes me how the necessary things in life just happen the way their supposed to with or without your planning.  
That, of course, gets me thinking during this heavy planning period in my life.  When my entire existence revolves solely on a specific day right now, I can’t help but wonder what all I’m missing in the mean-time.  Or am I really not missing anything because I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be focusing on the exact thing I’m supposed to be focused on.  
I used to think I wanted to be a wedding planner.  Who wouldn’t want to be?  You’re surrounded by people filled with love and hope and dreams.  Now that I’m planning my own wedding, I want to be as far away from anyone planning their own wedding for the very rest of my life (well, maybe not THAT drastic, but I certainly don’t want to be a wedding planner).  Maybe it would be more fun if I were spending other people’s money.  
In the next year, my life is going to change so very much.  And I’m so excited for all of it.  But I’m a little nervous, too.  For those of you who know me know that I don’t handle change very well.  I get very anxious.  I try to plan everything out then freak out when things don’t go accordingly.  I’m trying really hard to avoid those feelings, though.  In the next year the following will be changing:
-I will be getting married to my very best friend.
-I will be moving in with J for the first time!
-I will be moving to a new state where I’ll only know my husband.  (This will also be my very first major move–aside from college I’ve lived in the same house my entire life.)
-J will be starting grad school.
-I will be getting certified to teach.
-I will start my teaching career.
While all these things are happy and exciting things, I’m still trying to be very cautious.  That’s a lot to be changing all at once.
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

