living in a sad place [65]

I pass by the scene of the accident where the 20 year old ballerina was killed by a drunk driver every day. And every day it breaks my heart, but it also scares me to death. We live our lives thinking we are invinsable. We (at least most of us) are cautious and careful. We all grow up thinking we are going to live forever–never thinking that it can all change with one bad decision in an instant. I find it terrifying that at any given moment our lives can be taken by another person–be it a criminal or just a person who is careless. I am sad for the families of those who have been taken too soon at the cost of another’s poor decisions. I almost wish it were mandatory for the one to take the lives to call and inform the families of their wrong doing. To a person with a heart and soul, that has to be a worse punishment than jail-time. But maybe they don’t have a soul if they are capible of such malace.

I don’t know why I do this, but I try to put myself in the shoes of the victim. What do they think in their last moments of life? Do they actually know they are dying? Are they scared? Do they talk to God? Or is it all jsut very quick and quiet? My heart breaks for them.

I wish people were more careful. I wish more people thought about the well being of others.

Tonight I got stuck in the Observation Park parking lot. I drained my battery while waiting to pick my dad up. The sad thing is that I had to call J to come jump me because I did not feel comfortable enough to go & knock on the windows of the other cars full of people waiting to pick their loved ones up. How sad is it that I had to actually consider my safety in a situation like that? But there I was a young woman stranded alone in a back parking lot-i had to be realistic.

People live their lives thinking only about what benefits themselves, and that makes me sad.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

