sickly [64]


So I definitely feel like I’m on the brink of some awful illness tonight. :(  It all started with a horrible headache that just wouldn’t go away, and when I got home from my sisters I actually threw up.  Definitely no fun.  So I am in bed awaiting sleep hoping that will do the trick.  But I am a dedicated blogger and refuse to miss a day of my “100 days” so here I am.  

In honor of how I feel, I’ll “remember” the last time I felt this way.
It was spring semester of my senior year, and I’m pretty sure my roommate thought I’d become a permanent growth on the couch.  I was miserable.  I was hot.  I was cold.  I was sneezing and achey.  I couldn’t move.  I was so weak that I actually remember waking up from that “in & out” kind of sleep and saw that some documentary was on the TV.  I really didn’t want to watch the documentary.  The remote was just above my hand on the couch, but I was too weak to reach for it.  So instead I just closed my eyes and forced myself back to sleep.  Finally, my roommate convinced me to the infirmary.  She was a dance teacher for young kids and really couldn’t afford to get sick or get the kids sick.  It turned out that I had sinusitis and bronchitis.  ick.  So after about a week of camping out on the couch, I was just starting to feel somewhat normal again.  I wasn’t completely better, but at least able to function a little bit.  I was able to shower and even got dressed in normal clothes.  When J invited me over to our friends house to help him with a cooking show project, I decided I was possibly well enough to go.  For the first few hours I was fine, tired, but fine.  Once his “show” was over, J, our friends & I were lounging around watching FRIENDS.  In the meantime I started to feel a little….off.  But I just couldn’t place it.  I just figured it was the remnants of what I was getting over.  The next thing I knew I was waking up on our friend’s couch feeling nauseated.  I excused myself quickly from her house and drove the mile home frantically.  I remember thinking as I climbed the stairs to my apartment that I was certain I would throw up and how terrible it would be to throw up sober.  It had been a very long time since I’d be generically vomit sick.  I thought that really only happened to little kids.  
After spending the night becoming best friends with the porcelain gods, I migrated to the couch, and that’s where I stayed for another week.  Only I would get slammed with bronchitis, sinusitis and the stomach flu back to back to back.  
Man.  My immune system is crap.  I blame my family.  My theory is: I’m the baby of five, so by time I was born my mom ran out of all the good, healthy genes.  
Let’s hope a good night’s rest cures whatever this funk is that I’ve got and that I don’t become a growth in my very comfortable king sized bed.  
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

