another year begins [63]

It’s still summer for the rest of the world, but for the band geeks it’s the first day of band camp.  No, not the this one time at band camp kind of band camp.  There really isn’t anything “camp” like for band camp.  It’s pretty much just all day rehearsal in the ridiculous NC heat where bizarre tan lines are acquired and people gossip about each other.  I am excited because this year will be different: I have a driver’s license!  I’ve had this magical freedom card for about two weeks now, and I’ve put it to some good use.  But today will be the first time that all my friends will see me driving, and I’ll see them driving too.  Plus, I’m sure all the underclassmen will be jealous.  We can go off-campus for band camp lunch without having to beg for a ride.  Maybe I’ll be nice and let some of them ride with me.  

I sit in the driveway holding my keys waiting for K to arrive.  We each have our own cars, but in true Jo & K fashion, we still have to do everything together.  We arranged last night that she would come by my house first then we would drive in tandem to school (where band camp is held–see, told you there isn’t anything “campy” about band camp).   I see the white honda accord and as I stand she pulls into my driveway.  I can hear Dave Matthews blasting from her speakers.  All of her windows are down, and her sunroof is open.  I hop into my car, roll my windows down and turn up my music.  Michelle Branch fills the air.  We pull out of my drive way and head towards the school with giant smiles plastered on our sixteen year old faces.  We are JUNIORS!
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

