a teacher. a role model. a friend. [62]

::edited:: 
warning: those are not my tweets to the right.  I’m not sure how to fix this.  Please excuse their wildly foul language.

When I was a senior in high school, I had an honors English teacher who was simply teaching because he participated in the Teaching Fellows program at Appalachian State University therefore he was required to teach for I think it was four years post college.  Unless he told you so (which he actually did at one point) you never would have known that he didn’t exactly want to be teaching.  He did such a great job of incorporating real life with our lesson plans.  He also made sure that he approached the lesson in a way that would captivate the class and really make it stick.  Well, I may not remember exactly what I learned in that class, but I can tell you that it is a class that has stuck with me.  I read some of my favorite books that semester in that class.  That was also the year that I discovered my love for Hamlet and almost all things Shakespeare.  I also fell in love with Kenneth Branagh that year.  It is because of that class and that TEACHER that I went on to Appalachian State to study English.  

And now, it’s because of that Teacher that I really can’t get it out of my head that I want to teach senior English.  
I remember walking into his classroom before anyone else was in there yet and sitting patiently at my desk.  I was conveniently assigned a seat just behind J.  This was during the time that J and I were not allowed to see each other or speak to each other, but we were safe within the four walls of that glorious classroom.  Mr. D was well aware that J and I were dating, but he wasn’t entirely aware of our situation.  When he entered the classroom that morning, he greeted me and retreated to his desk in the back right corner to sort through the stack of graded papers and sip his coffee.  After a few moments of small talk, Mr. D realized something was wrong, and his face contorted to express concern.  I explained our situation to him, and I could actually read sympathy in his eyes.  I expressed my fear that we may have an uninvited visitor during class that day.  At that point, Mr. D stood and walked to the entrance of the classroom.  He kindly but sternly assured me that no visitors would be getting through that door.  
I felt safer in that classroom that day than I’d felt anywhere in a very long time.  Soon, all my classmates arrived and took their seats.  The bell rang to signal the start of the school day, and Mr. D closed the classroom door.  He smiled and dove right into another day of our Hamlet lesson.  Both J and I were laughing by the end of the class–which was never an uncommon thing with Mr. D as a teacher no matter the issues that resided on the other side of that closed door.  
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a teacher. a role model. a friend. [62]

  1. Anonymous says:

    Joey… Oh wow, he was my fave teacher at Millbrook! Do you know if he is still there?PS. I love reading your blog. You are a wonderful writer!Carla

Leave a Reply

