broke [60]

Today’s Assignment: Tell me how poor you were.
I’d lost track of how many times my phone rang.  I just ignored it.  It had gotten to the point that I actually felt panic whenever it would ring–even if it was just a friend calling for dinner plans.  That, unfortunately, was more the exception than the rule these days.  An 800 number flashed across my screen, and I knew it was someone who was going to ask me for money I just didn’t have.  How did it get this bad?  I took a deep breath and turned my phone off.  silence.  
My stomach rumbled with hunger and despite my strong lack of desire for another $.25 Food Lion brand chicken pot pie, I sliced an X into the crust and pushed it into the oven.  Who knew it was possible to survive solely on those for an entire month.  It has to get better than this.

I sat in the crowded computer lab in my own little bubble.  I swished the words around in my mind in order to perfectly channel them through my fingertips into the email.  After my third consecutive meeting with the sorority’s President and Treasurer begging for their financial sympathy, I prepared to write the inevitable email to my father.  I promised myself I’d never do this.  I failed.  
I was poor…
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

