writing with the heart [59]

I was trying to explain this earlier today to J & Eric & I don’t think I did a very good job. And I’m really not sure if I can explain it in a way that makes total sense, but I guess I’ll try anyway.

When it comes to writing, I have to dig deep for the feelings my characters are feeling & actually experience them myself in order for it to come across as real emotion and true.

When I write, I don’t write with my mind–I write with my heart, if that makes any sense at all. I put my music on & try my best to put myself right in the middle of the story so that when my audience reads it they are able to also put themselves in the middle of it.

I think my whole writing process would be much easier, & I probably would be able to get much more done if my writing didn’t depend completely on feelings & emotions. There are some days where Ilm supposed to be writing a happy little love scene & I’m in a horrible pissed off mood–therefore, the writing doesn’t either get done that day or my “love scene” turns into a brutal fight between star crossed lovers that ends up being scratched anyway.

So though my writing isn’t always “non-fiction,” I do always try to write about things that I have either experienced or have friends who have experienced it so that way I can do a good job of making it realistic.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

