{mean}: offensive, selfish, nasty [55]

Why are people so mean to each other?  From the smallest thought unnoticed gestures to murder.  We are all guilty of being mean.  


Floating around the news right now are several instances of people being mean.  Some are obviously worse offenses than others, but they all leave me with the exact same feeling: shame.  
This is what my best friend had to say about the news story about murder of Bride-to-be  Annie Le  
it’s so incredibly sick and sad to me 
the way humanity is,
 how God put us all here on this earth
 and this is the way we treat one another
-K. Slack

I couldn’t agree more.  It makes my stomach turn to learn that a human being could do this to another human being.  I hate that I do this, but I try to put myself in the shoes of the murderer to see if I can find any logic in their actions, but all it does is make me queasy and uneasy, and I immediately have to stop thinking about it.  And then I inevitably put myself in the shoes of the murdered, and I just feel fear.  I can’t think of any other way to describe it other than an elementary exclamation: I hate murderers.  

Then I think about the whole Taylor Swift/ Imbecile  (I refuse to say his name & give him the publicity he was probably hoping for) situation.  What on earth was he THINKING!?  How could someone do this to another person and think it was okay and appropriate?  Sure, once asked how his dead mother would feel about the situation he felt remorse, but it was too late!  Remorse or not, his actions are not excusable.
And in light of research for my current piece, I think about all those young ones out there who purposely hurt each other for insignificant reasons.  They talk about each other.  They spread rumors.  They make fun and tease.  Why is it that we are all built with these mean bones in our bodies?  
While I understand that there are definitely different levels of mean, it doesn’t change the fact that the end result is always the same despite the degree:  People get intentionally hurt
So if you can take anything away from this, please let it be that you think twice before causing another person harm in any degree.  Our world would be a better place if everyone would just make an effort to be a little nicer to each other.
I mourn for all the losses in this world, but especially for the ones that are results of careless actions and mean-ness.    
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

