bargain shopping: what a bust [54]

You know when you’re shopping, and you really don’t have a lot of money, but you keep going back to the same fabulous bag that’s a little out of your price range?  Then you just bite the bullet and buy it.  I think I do that with my “career” choices.

I keep browsing through all of the cheap wal-mart brand jobs and finding dissatisfaction.  And for right now, I’m okay with this.  But I keep going back to the same idea, and I’m really starting to wonder if it’s the right choice.  The only thing is, I’d really hate to spend the time and energy and money on something that may not be right.  So please, tell me what you think.
I am in love with studying English.  From words, to grammar, to literature, to writing; all of it.  I really enjoy discussing everything about English.  And I’ve really always thought I’d make a good high school English teacher.  While I’m certain this is a much bigger commitment than any other kind of job I’ve ever had before, I think it might be right for me.  The only thing is, though, that I would have to get a position in a high school (or at worst, a middle school).  I just already know for a fact that I would not do well working with young children.  I can handle the drama and insanity; I just don’t think I could handle all the extras that little kids come with.  
When I was little, I wanted to be a teacher.  When I was in high school, I wanted to be a teacher.  Right before I graduated, I considered changing my major and adding an extra year to my collegiate career because I wanted to be a teacher.  I keep going back to that same fabulous bag.  
I, of course, will wait to pursue this until Jonathan & I are settled in Georgia.  I just really have too much on my plate right now to be considering adding school and another expense to it.  But I do keep thinking about it, and every time I do, I get a warm longing feeling inside of my chest.  It’s kind of the same feeling I get about wanting to publish my novel.  I think this is called desire. ;)
So what do you all think?  Any advice?  I’d love to hear what you all have to say.   
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to bargain shopping: what a bust [54]

  1. Jen Freeman says:

    Teaching would be an excellent choice! I think about going back to teaching all of the time myself. If you were teaching in a high school or even a middle school it would definitely keep you in touch with your YA audience and what they are like.Do you know where you will settle down in GA? If it were me I would start researching what I needed to get done in GA to get my teaching certification there–and scope out schools I would want to teach at.Another idea would be to get a masters in creative writing and then go on to teach at a university.

  2. Joey says:

    thank you SO much for your input and advice! I will definitely look into all of that!!

  3. The Horn Family says:

    I have fond memories of teaching, but as with any job there's a lot of "junk" that comes along with it. Just make sure you love the teaching part as much as you love the English lit., writing, etc. part. If not, you'll just end up completely frustrated because for the majority of kids that cross your path, English will not be anywhere near their list of Top Ten Loves! Plus, you may be required to teach things you despise yourself… Of course, you could always teach an elective class of creative writing or YA lit. That would be fun, and generally, people are in those classes because they want to be. All that said, I think you would make a great teacher if that's the path you choose. I agree with Jen. Just do a little investigating to see what you need to do in GA. Some teachers in Wake County can teach while they are going to classes for their degree–it's usually computer/business class teachers, but perhaps that's an option too. (Heck, they might even help pay for your tution.)

Leave a Reply

