a confession of a dvd-aholic [47]

Confession: I will watch certain shows on DVD all day long.  It’s not because I’m lazy.  It’s not because I necessarily like the show (which of course I do), but it’s because I watch the story.  I fall in love with the characters.  I fall in love with the setting.  I am in awe of the creative minds behind these creations.  And it makes me want it so badly.  I want someone to fall in love with my characters.  I want someone to get lost in my story.  I want it.  

Sometimes my biggest days of motivation are filled with nothing but pajamas, my blue recliner, and a DVD of either FRIENDS, One Tree Hill or Gilmore Girls.  Friends  is more for comfort than anything else.  While I love the story-line, it’s quite far off from anything I could write.  I’m just not that funny. 
 My mind flutters with all the different character possibilities that are out there.  There are just so many different people just waiting to be dreamed up, and it’s like they’re waiting for me.  I’m afraid they may be waiting a long time, as I am just no good and making a person up out of thin air.  It’s unfortunate, but most of my characters are stews of real live people.  I hate that about my writing.  I wish I were more capable in the creative fictional characters department.  It would save me a lot of hurt and worry.  
My goal is to create a whole “cast” of fictional characters who all co-exist within a fictional world for a book series.  I feel that most writers forget about the “planning” stage of writing.  For this–a lot of prep work will have to be done before I ever sit down and write their story.  I will individually create their backgrounds, their personalities, their likes/dislikes/mannerisms/dialect/everything that makes up a person.  This isn’t easy–at least not for me.  Because my instinct is to look at the people around me and take bits and pieces of each of them and throw them into a huge pot that creates someone else entirely.  I will not do this.  This is just something I’m going to have to work on.  As a writer, I should be able to do this.  I will just practice it until I feel comfortable.  Just be careful–my trash can will probably be filled with half developed versions of all of you.  And for that, I am sorry.
My fictional world:  I haven’t a clue where to start.  I have to dream it up from scratch, or at least make it seem that way.  I have to give it history and personality, just like I would a character.  In fact, often times the most important “character” in a story is the setting itself.  Oh the pressure is on.
As much of a challenge as all of this is for me, I’m almost excited.  I’m excited to see if I can really do this.  I’m curious if I really put my mind to it, if I’ll succeed.  If I fail–that’s okay, too.  At least then I’ll have my answer.
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

