dream catchers [45]

I can’t help but wonder if there is much difference between “trust,” “faith,” and “naivety.”  Is having hope the same as being gullible, immature, and inexperienced?  Sometimes I wonder if the reason some people are more successful than others is because they don’t believe in naivety.  They see their dreams and goals for exactly as they are, and they don’t worry about how silly they may seem, or how of reach they may be.  

Trust.  Does being a trusting person also make that person stupid?  I can’t help but wonder what level of trust is okay.  Your beloved tells you they are heading out to a bar for the evening “with just some friends” when you found some risky pictures on his computer screen the night before, and you say “sure, hunny. Have fun.”  trust or stupidity?  
Faith.  You believe in the good in people despite their misfortunes in the past.  You believe people can change.  You believe that someone who was once evil and manipulating can become caring, trustworthy and pleasant.  faith or naivety?  
Chasing a dream rests pretty prominently on hope, faith and trust.  Does that make the dream chaser callow?  Or does it just mean they have the guts to fail?  
Anyone pursuing any kind of dream has to have courage.  And they don’t necessarily need the courage for if they succeed.  They need the courage to fail.  They need to be in it for the journey–not the end result.  I don’t care if I write for the rest of my life and never get published.  I just want to write.
But hell, a career doing something I love so much would be unthinkable.  
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

