.tailored inspiration. [43]

I find inspiration in many things, but my main source of inspiration comes from music.  I can find a story in the way a song makes me feel.  Songs have that magical force that drops you right in the middle of memory.  In order to write, I have to allow myself to feel.  I open my heart, block out my mind, and simply feel.  I even find that I cry pretty often while I’m writing–depending on what I’m writing.  

Most recently my main feed of inspiration has been coming from Taylor Swift.  I think this is for several reasons.  My most vivid memories are the ones I have from high school.  High school was not easy for me.  I was not in the popular crowd, and I often found the meanest guys and dated them.  I may have made high school harder on myself than it had to be.  But either way–it was hard.  Taylor Swift is young and so in tune with those feelings I tried for so long to bury.  She is talented–her songs are her own.  She doesn’t just stand up on a stage and sing someone else’s words.  Her songs are from her own experiences–much like my stories.  I find myself wondering if she has felt some of the same insecurities that I have about writing real things for the whole world to know.  She lets you into a vulnerable space–just like I do.  I wonder if the people in her songs ever feel the way that the people in my stories sometimes do.  I wonder how she gets past that and just allows herself to write openly.  My biggest block is my fear, and I just don’t know if I’ll ever get past that.  

I was reading an interview about her in Time the other day while I was in the waiting room at the Dentist’s office.  She was talking about how she writes her songs–and she said she would just sit there and think that if she were in the room with the person the song was about, what would she want to say to that person?  What would she want them to know?  And then she just writes it.  Doesn’t that scare her?  It scares me to death.  
Most recently, her song that pours the most inspiration into my veins is: Fifteen.  She identifies so well with the main character of her song and makes you believe everything she sings about.  It makes my heart heavy with pain and regret from my own young high school mistakes.  She’s hit the nail right on the head.  
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to .tailored inspiration. [43]

  1. Anonymous says:

    I enjoyed reading this blog entry, because you address several things, inspiration, fear, regret and several other things that tie in with those. I've always loved reading anything and everything I could get my hands on, even as I could recognize what is good and what is bad writing, but could never seem to write myself until like you I found that you have to lose yourself in feeling. I discovered that if I just sit down and start writing while thinking only of the subject that the words seem to put themselves together. I agreed with you on Taylor Swift, she has a tremendous gift for sharing her experiences and thoughts and viewpoint in song and words; there are very few that have her ability to the same degree. She also is unique in that she discovered from a young age the need to express herself this way and had the drive and developed the skills that put her in the position she is in now, after years of hard and constant work. As for the song "Fifteen," I don't know if you follow her close enough to know, but that song actually is her life, and that is why it sounds so convincing. She wrote it about herself and her friend Abigail, and she says it is one of the most personal songs she's ever written. Another thing you might be interested in reading of her is her latest blog, she talks about why and how she writes her songs and gives a great deal of insight into her thoughts and personality. I'll link it in case you want to read it. http://blogs.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog.view&friendId=27612962&blogId=508937979

  2. Jo ELizabeth says:

    Thank you for the comment. It's nice to know that there are other people out there just like me. Also, thank you for the Taylor Swift blog link. Things like this really make me believe that every young woman is really just the same, we just don't realize it. And instead of becoming friends, we all make judgements and pass gossip that only alienate ourselves and leave us lonely. Best of luck to you in your writing.

Leave a Reply

