ok. point taken. i’ll blog about you again! [42]

First, I have to tell you that I was just in my sister’s old room (which also happened to be my Uncle John’s old room) helping my mom move furniture so we could paint the rest of the walls.  When we moved the dresser that used to belong to my Uncle, we found one of his old Disney Store name tags that must have been there since he lived here.  Finding things like that always stings a little.

Then I sat down to blog for tonight and here’s my assignment: Tell me some details about an uncle or grandfather.  Make sure to name the uncle.  
now you tell me that that isn’t weird…..
***************************************************************************************
I remember Uncle John every day.  And I could write about how much I miss him forever.  What I’m afraid of though is that in the two years since he’s been gone, I’m afraid that I’m losing our memories.  The memories I’d hoped would never fade are starting to slip from my mind.  It feels like I’m losing him all over again.  He’s in the little things.  My car inspection is up soon–that’s something he would remind me of.  There’s chocolate ice cream in the freezer–that’s something he would want.  Jonathan and I eat in the Crabtree food court pretty often–that always makes me think of him.  I thought about an ice cream shoppe that used to be at the corner of Creedmoor & Strickland, Scoops.  We used to go there, and he would always get a thick chocolate milkshake.  I haven’t had a plain chocolate milkshake since he’s been gone.  I don’t think I’d like the taste anymore.  Sometimes when I spot a picture of him without warning, it’s hard for me to process the fact that he’s gone.  He’s so familiar, still.  Everything about him and about our lives together was so ordinary.  There was nothing spectacular about any of it, except that it was amazing.  He used to like going to the movies.  He would always be present for any important/semi-important/or even lame important event in our lives.  I’m pretty sure he never missed a band concert.  He would fall asleep watching TV in our living room or mid-conversation–at the time it was endearing–we never knew that it was a sign of something horrible.  Sometimes I wonder if there was anything we could have done differently.  But I guess that’s the point of people like Uncle John and our current situation–to teach us not to take the things we have and the people we love for granted.  
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

