finding the oneS [40]

After going to Boone this weekend, I got to thinking about friendships and fate.  I started wondering how it is that certain people become friends, some stay acquaintances but never anything more or less, and some are just not meant to gel.  I went to a college party this weekend; something I haven’t done in a very long time, not since I graduated.  In my slight drunken haze, I stopped for a moment. I stood in the middle of the room and simply observed.  The majority of people at this party are people I care about deeply.   I sincerely care about their well being, their successes and failures.  My heart smiles when I’m around them.  It’s funny how it almost seems like I’m the best version of myself when I’m with these people.  But that’s what got me thinking– how is it that this huge group of people are all meant to co-exist within a strong, deep bond?  It amazes me that we are provided with the ability to care so deeply for so many people.  Everyone stresses about finding the right one, but what about the right ones?  Aren’t they just as important?  Aren’t you as likely to spend the rest of your life with your friends as you are with your significant other?  Aren’t your friends just as important?  They are the ones who are there for you always, support you through everything, and love you too.  I wish we could have all realized how important our friendships are when we were younger.  Some people focus so hard on simply finding the one that friendships often take a backseat.  Don’t allow this to happen.  Your friends are the ones who will be there for you to pick up the pieces when the right one ends up being wrong.  And they will be the ones to support you and encourage you when it’s right.  So make your friendships as important as all the other relationships in your life.  A life just isn’t as sweet without the wonderful company of best friends.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

