failed resistance [41]

Recently, I’ve been giving a lot of thought to what kind of writer I’m meant to be.  I am so passionate about so many different things that it happens to be a really hard decision.  Especially when you are in the beginning stages of establishing yourself.  It’s such a huge deal what piece of work you decide to spend most of your time on, and which piece you want to define you.  Whatever your first piece is, no matter it’s success or failure, is often what defines you.  That’s scary.  I have always claimed to be the writer who focuses on all types of relationships: romance, friendships, family, etc…  Which is true.  But I find myself struggling so often with the importance of fiction.  Then I got to thinking–who needs to write fiction?  Couldn’t I just write the truth?  Can’t I just take the most powerful, meaningful moments in my own life and translate them to a larger audience?  Can’t I make a difference in someone else’s life?  Can’t my work resinate in another person who needs to know that they aren’t alone?  Someone else has been there too?  

I’m not wounded.  I’m not depressed, but I have gone through some pretty hard stuff.  Maybe not the kind of hard stuff that makes a hard life, but certainly hard enough stuff to a young adult.  Stuff that definitely shapes you into a different person.  I’ve always been passionate about giving advice–especially romance advice–but I’m in no position to give any grown person advice on the kind of stuff that makes for a life-long marriage.  I’m still figuring that stuff out.  But I have gone through high school.  I have had my heart broken.  I have had boys make me promises they did not keep, and it changed me.  This stuff is the stuff I know.  I know that sad, bottomless feeling young girls get on the night of a school dance when you’re left alone on your bedroom floor, crying.  I know all about that.  
I had a same professor through much of my college years.  That’s what happens when you’re in a semi-small college with an even smaller concentration.  He and I used to argue regularly that I would end up down the young adult path.  I resisted his advice.  I rebelled.  For some reason I took that as an insult.  Here I was in a class surrounded by possibly the next great world changing authors, and our professor announces to the whole damn class that I’m destined for young adults.  Screw that.  
I have made my decision.  I will be writing Memoirs and Young Adult Novels.  Who knew?
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

