cyber rejection [36]

Today’s assignment: tell me how a relationship ended.

It was one of those things that I could feel coming.  Something didn’t sit right.  Something was off, and my body knew it.  I remember meeting him before our last class of the day.  We always met by the band room then walked through the gravel between the trailers and the main building towards the english building.  We were holding hands, but we weren’t connected.  It was in that moment that I knew we wouldn’t last forever, and my heart broke a little behind my easy smile.  Maybe I was wrong.  

It was Saturday, and he was ignoring my IMs.  We hadn’t spoken much all day, and I hated that.  Suddenly, an AIM username I didn’t know flashed across my screen Joey, It’s me.  We need to talk.  Can’t now, but I’ll call you later. Yeah–sorry buddy.  That isn’t going to fly.  My heart immediately leapt into my throat and against my better judgment, I pushed him.  I prodded the conversation out of him.  Was he really doing this?  Breaking up with me after all we’d been through on someone else’s IM account?  you have got to be kidding me!  Although, looking back, I can’t say I’d expect anything less (or more, rather).  
My world started to spin.  I could hear myself hyperventilating.  I felt my tears fall against my thigh and the screen blurred.  This isn’t what I want anymore.  We need to break up. no. no. no. no. no. no. no. I heard my mom enter my room, but I couldn’t see her through my veil of tears.  It only took her seconds to realize what was going on.  First, she tried to console me.  I resisted.  I just kept typing.  I don’t even know what I could have possibly been writing at this point, but I was frantically tapping the keys.  Bound and determined to change his mind.  I had to change his mind!  Then, a side of my mother I’d never seen before emerged. JoAnn!  If you don’t get off the computer, I’m going to throw it out the damn window!  ok.  point taken.  She reached over and mashed the power button.  My screen went black, the way my heart felt.  It was over.
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

