potato pancakes that are sweet. so very sweet. [35]

Today’s Assignment: Tell me about a breakfast you were privileged to eat.  Be specific.

The restaurant was small and loud.  The kind of place locals become regulars.  The waitresses weren’t young and vibrant.  They were dressed like old ladies-maybe because they were.  The coffee, however, made up for their disarray.  Oh, the sweet bitter coffee.  This place is famous for their sweet potato pancakes, so that is of course what I ordered.  Despite my distaste for sweet potatoes.  They were a little pricier than I would have expected.  They better be worth it.  Finally, the ginormous plate arrived.  Three larger than life sweet potato pancakes snuggled each other on the plate partially spilling over.  They were dusted with powdered sugar and accompanied by a large glob of maple butter.  Maple butter with pecans, that is.  I slathered my fancy flap-jacks with the soft nutty sweet goodness.  I divided them into bite sized pieces.  Then I ate.  oh my gosh I ate.  They were soft and sweet and crunchy and pancackey!  While I chewed, I took a swig of my coffee to wash them down.  The beautiful combination of flavors danced together in my mouth.  Oh such a wonderful dance.

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

