me + coffee = love [32]

Today’s Assignment: Tell me everything you know about coffee.


oh coffee.  I’m just not sure writers would exist without coffee.  In fact–I don’t know that I’ve ever met a writer (or anyone in the English dept for that matter) who didn’t drink coffee.  I think it might be a prerequisite.  Come to think of it, I don’t think I even drank coffee before becoming an English major. 
There is just something about the smell of coffee that gets my creative juices flowing.  I get my best writing done when I’m in a coffee shop.  This all started with Crossroads at Appalachian.  The soft lighting.  The cozy chairs.  The aroma of those decadent beans.  mmmm.  peace.  I hate that there aren’t “crossroads” everywhere.  That’s definitely one thing I miss terribly about Boone.  My writing misses it too.
Here in Raleigh my favorite place to write is Barnes & Noble.  And not just any B&N.  The one in Brier Creek is where my loyalty lies.  B&N with a grande white mocha, please.  yes, yes please.
I am a very sweet coffee drinker.  My coffee has an adorable love affair with lots of sugar and cream.  Especially those “coffee mate” creamers.  Those are my coffee’s best friends!  
My coffee and I have a very unique relationship, too.  I really only like fresh coffee.  Something about re-heated coffee just doesn’t mesh well with the cream & sugar.  It becomes foamy.  I don’t like foamy coffee.  Ew. no.
My relationship with coffee started with mocha lattes at Starbucks, then developed to a few frozen coffee drinks at the WCU UC.  My real love affair with coffee started at Appalachian.  They take their coffee making pretty darn seriously.  You have so many different options: Turtles, Grasshoppers, Mochas, Iced coffees, APPaccinos (you know you like the cleverness!)! On the choices could go on and on.  And they were all yours with a lovely swipe of your magic card.  I would sometimes find myself having 6 or 7 cups of coffee every single day.  Each cup a different flavor.  Grasshoppers were my favorite though.  Chocolate-coffee-carmel-mint.  oh it just doesn’t get much better!  There were often times that the barista would suggest a decaf after about my 4th glass when my hand would be shaking uncontrollably when I’d hand him my appcard.  He was my buddy from my creative writing class.  He knew that shake well. :)  
Now my coffee drinking is a little bit more grown up.  A LITTLE BIT, I stress.  I stick with mostly drip coffee these days.  Those “magic cards” don’t exist in the real world and specialty coffees are freakin’ expensive.  Darn you, Starbucks!  You rob me!  
I fill the pot to six cups of water.  2 1/2 scoops of coffee.  three splendas & some cream.  So here’s to you, coffee.  You make me a better, nicer, less groggy person.  
Thank you, Coffee.
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

