. a test of memory. [28]

Tonight I am being tested.  My new writing buddy, Old Friend from Far Away, has given me a series of questions/topics & I am to write for 2-3 minutes on each.  

A quick personal update first, though.  I don’t want to feel like I’m missing from these posts all together!  Today I babysat.  Maybe I really shouldn’t do that anymore.  :)  I realized today what it is about babysitting that I hate: the parent’s always get the kids all wound up and excited that someone is coming over to “play” with them.  No.  That is not my job.  My job is to make sure your kids are alive & well (and sometimes fed) when the you return.  I do that well.  I do not play.
Okay–on to real work :)  I will not list the question–only my answers.  Hopefully you’ll be able to tell from my answer what the topic was.
__#1:   I remember my Aunt Jo Ann when she and Uncle Ray came to stay with us while their house was being finished.  I had never seen my Aunt without her make-up on, even when she was staying with us.  She would come downstairs for coffee in her housecoat, make-up fully done.  I remember wondering to myself if that was just how she looked and how come I didn’t look like that.  Then I was introduced to make-up and it’s power.
__#2:  My professor placed my story on my desk: upside down.  That’s never a good sign.  As I flipped it over a sea of crimson stung my eyes.  I could hardly even see the dignified times new roman text beneath it’s brutal waves.  This sea was taunted by a hurricane with furious waters.  My story was bleeding, and I couldn’t find a band aid.  I excused myself to the restroom.  I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror as I entered.  My eyes were raw.  Defeated. 
__#3: As we approached the police, a siren sang in the distance.  I did not like it’s melody.  It sent my heart flying, it caught in my throat.  The officer roared; I was almost certain my hair fluttered in his voice’s wake.  The three of us offered up our explanations followed by desperate pleas.  They were heard and granted.  Once in the stillness of the car, our laughter rang a joyful tune.
__#4: Ms. Everette was young.  Her ebony hair was short straight.  Stick straight.  Her dark eyes glistened like happy black holes.  She was tall, at least compared to a kindergartner.  Her jumpers were always age appropriate, for us–not her, decorated with smiling pencils or sleeping kittens.  Her white teeth revealed during her frequent smiles were each in their perfect places, just as we were under her ruling.  
__#5: We were dining on our own for our first time while on vacation.  The Charleston streets sang a song of romance as we skipped hand in hand to dinner.  Rock Shrimp Linguini.  Decadent. Creamy.  Smooth.  The company I kept was just as scrumptious.  The view from our little dining nook was sweet and beautiful.  Dusk was setting in and lovers were venturing out.  A delicious little memory.
__#6: It was a little chilly and a lot wet.  The sky was weeping; it must have had a bad day.  Football didn’t care.  My best friend and I gathered our gear and ventured to the stadium for support.  The air was heavy and moist, exactly as we felt.  When the game ended, the field squished under our soaked feet.  A congratulatory hug rung out droplets.  We were drenched. 
Okay Okay… I’ll let you all have the questions/topics.  Tell me: how did I do?
1. Give me a memory of your Mother, Grandmother, or Aunt.  Be detailed
2. Give me a memory of the color red.  Do not use the word red.
3. Give me a memory of sound.  Do not use the word sound.
4. Give me a picture of a teacher you had in Elementary school.
5. Tell me about a meal you loved.  Be detailed.
6.  Tell me about a time you remember rain.
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

