.a college prerequisite. [25]

i highlighted my hair with red.
it’s very different and funky.
i like it.

i’m cold & not feeling well.  

i’d like to curl up in bed and watch tv til I fall asleep.
maybe i’ll do that in a minute.
 ******************************************************************************************
In the last few days, I have been reminded of the way I used to feel physically while I was in college, and it got me thinking about the strength it takes to survive those four years.
For most people college isn’t easy.  And I don’t necessarily mean the courses you take are difficult, though that’s probably part of it.  
When I was in school, I had much more on my plate than just going to school.  I had classes, work (full-time–first at a demanding bar then at a rug store), sorority, boyfriend, apartment, roommates, etc.  It wasn’t easy.  Nothing was ever simple.  And I was always exhausted.  Who could blame me?  I think everyone in college is chronically exhausted.  
Now being out of school, sometimes I have to remind myself that it can’t ever be that bad again.  I’m consistently working (well, most of the time :)), with consistent paychecks that aren’t always completely promised out, and the only thing really on my plate is work.  Obviously in the next year I have a little more because of the wedding (okay, a LOT more) and my paychecks are pretty much promised out–but due to the practice I got in college, this doesn’t really seem that bad.  It doesn’t seem as scary, either.  College sometimes seemed scary.
Sometimes those bills would come and you really didn’t know how you were going to pay them, and you didn’t know if you even had the time to worry about it because you had something major going on in all of your six classes.  Man-we were crazy!
I think back to the many freezing cold nights spent by the big, dark windows in the library (on the second floor, of course).  I remember thinking you could almost SEE the cold even without snow.  Part of me misses it–part of me will never miss the brutal nip that would get you every time you exited a building.  
So school is getting ready to gear up again for all those college kids out there.  I’m almost jealous when I see the excited statuses of everyone on facebook who are moving back into their dorms/apartments, back to Boone–getting ready for football season, etc.  Then I’m reminded of how hard it was sometimes, and it’s hard for me to miss it too much.  
So for all of you who are getting ready for yet another year, my advice for you is to remind yourself every single day that you ARE strong enough to make it through the year.  It DOES get easier when you’re done.  And have FUN.  It doesn’t last forever.  The things I do miss most about college have nothing to do with the courses I attended or the bills I couldn’t pay.  It’s the football games, the random parties, the fraternity boys & pledges.  It’s the view of the mountains, the fall leaves, crossroads that I miss the most.  What I miss the very most is the constant surrounding of people who are just like you.  That’s more refreshing than you think–and you don’t realize how much you like it until it’s gone.  So appreciate it all.  It slips by so fast.  
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

