Weiner’s words about Writers & Weiners….? ok ok, that was a lousy pun :) [23]

The Miserable Love Life

Again, a crucial ingredient for the formation of a novelist – romantic humiliation and heartbreak. The unhappy childhood gives you the tools of observation. Unrequited crushes, romantic despair, a few memorable break-ups, will give you something to write about, an understanding of grief. No prospect of heartbreak in sight? I can provide phone numbers upon request.

******************************************************************************************************

The above statement is from Jennifer Weiner’s website in her “For writers” section.  In that section, she goes on to give real life advice to aspiring writers.  This is exactly what I’d been looking for my whole writing life!  Funny thing is, I read this site every single day (though it never changes).  The other funny thing is, mostly everything on this site is stuff I already knew.  It just feels different coming from someone who is so successful but was also once in my shoes.  She’s real, and I love that.

Ms. Weiner is SPOT on with this statement.  At least for me.  If you go back to my earlier post titled The Art of Breaking Up I go on to say that despite how much each break up I’ve experienced hurt, I’m thankful for it because I almost feel like it is responsible for my desire to write.  this is the epitome of the truth.  

Weiner also makes a statement about being the “misfit” or the “one who didn’t fit in,” and how that is also another driving force for most writers because it gives us the tools for observation.  I swear she was talking to me and to me alone when she wrote that.  It’s amazing to me how universal the world of writing is–despite the genre, focus, etc.  We are all the same in some bonded twisted way.  

Being a writer is something I’ve always wanted, and though I have no credentials and haven’t been published I don’t think of myself of any less of a writer.  You wouldn’t say a baby was any less of a human, would you?  I’m just starting out.  I’m just learning the ropes.  Learning to walk and talk, if you will.  

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

