.my oscar boo. [19]


Just before my senior year of college started, I decided to finally invest in a working vacuum cleaner.  Jonathan & I wandered over to the Boone Walmart in hopes to find one at a reasonable price.  Little did I know that this shopping trip would be something that would change my life forever.  

Just as we pulled up, Jonathan pointed out a car with “FREE KITTENS” posted in the window with a couple sitting next to a box.  The moment J pointed them out, he regretted it–knowing me too well.  We went to check them out, and I instantly fell in love with a little orange ball of fluff.  So in a split second, I decided to not only get a vacuum, but a kitten as well.  Welcome home, Oscar De la Hoya Dickens.  
Oscar quickly became my best buddy!  He was snugly & entertaining & cute & funny & the list could go on and on!  He was always there to greet me when I’d come home from work or school.  He’d keep me warm in the winter by laying his huge 20 lb body across me.  There were many nights when I’d wake up to find that I’d been kicked off my pillow as it had been commandeered by a curled up kitty.  He was always too adorable for me to be upset.  I would just snuggle up next to him and be perfectly happy that I had the world’s best cat.
He would travel back & forth to Raleigh with me, and my family quickly fell in love with him too!  
When it came time, I made all the necessary arrangements to have my poor little Oscar-boo snip sniped.  The morning of his operation, I actually cried while dropping him off.  It would be the first time since he came to live with me that I’d sleep in my apartment without him.  I was a wreck.  Finally his operation weekend was over & it was time to bring him home! YAY!
Shortly after his surgery, Oscar developed symptoms of a “cold.”  I brought him to the kitty ER because his nose was so stuffed he had to breathe out of his mouth–he was so pitiful.  He was diagnosed with an upper respiratory infection…boo!  Once he was getting better-his eye became all red & swollen.  Back to the ER it was.  This time he was diagnosed with herpes.  Yes–my cat had herpes!  This was something he would have for the rest of his life (Just like people herpes!)
Well, as bad as the herpes was, it gets worse.  Shortly after moving home, Oscar was diagnosed with Feline Leukemia.  He was give 8-10 months to live.  Oscar lived exactly three weeks after his devastating diagnosis.  My sweet little Oscar boo, how I love & miss you!
Oscar was only a year & a half when he passed.  Though his life was short–it was so instrumental in my own life.  His presence in my life was so important to me.  He was sometimes my only rock in an ever changing world.  

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

