.a vivid memory. [13]

I remember feeling breathless.  You know that feeling when you fall on your back and the wind gets knocked out of you?  Yeah.  That’s the one.  Then the knot started to grow.  The one that lodged itself in my throat.  The numbness thankfully washed all the pain from my body–sparing me as if my body knew the pain I’d endure along the way was enough to learn the necessary lessons.  His face was flat and blank.  His eyes said what his words couldn’t.  The five words he’d just barely breathed out hung in the air threatening to crash down on us.  It was almost as if we both believed if we didn’t say a single other word, the ones he’d just said wouldn’t count.

“This has to be good-bye.”  
Fall had just started to settle, announcing it’s presence in the colorful Raleigh leaves.  There was a slight nip to the air and a knife in my heart.  We stood facing each other; silent.  My mind was racing–not making any sense.  I couldn’t come up with a plausible solution fast enough to ward off my tears.  I felt the wet warmth start to trickle down my cheeks and watched the tears fill in his eyes.  The slow trickle quickly became inconsolable sobs.  When the chill in the air got the best of me, he led me to my car.  To this day I’m still not sure if I was really shivering from the cold or my looming loss.  We sat for a long while with our tears our best company.  As the cliched saying promised, time helps heal all wounds, and finally our eyes ran dry.  I started the old Camry and turned to face him before I drove him to get his truck.  Words finally found him.  His eyes were as deep a blue as the ocean just before the storm hits.  
“Will you marry me?”  
“Yes,” I breathed.
I drove us to my house in silence.  Nothing else needed to be said.  Somehow, some way, we’d make it through whatever faced us.  Somehow we just knew.  As we entered my house, we shared our first kiss just inside my back door.  
We were seventeen.  We were in love.  We were right.
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

