.dear joelizabeth. a real dream [8]

I have always been, for some reason, the person that most of my friends and family come to when they are dealing with something that may be a little over their heads.  Often times I’m simply a sounding board for them to talk themselves through whatever it is they may be experiencing. 

 But when it comes to relationships–they come to me over and over.  And they expect advice. And for some reason, I am able to give it.  I don’t know if the advice I am giving is really “sound” advice–but it has been proven effective in most circumstances.  
I always hate it when anyone I care about finds themselves dealing with anything that causes them any kind of hurt, but I also secretly love it that they come to me.  I feel important.  I feel honored.  I feel the pressure to help them.  And I love it.  I really do believe that it is something that God has blessed me with.  I have been given the gift of an empathetic ear, and I certainly put it to good use.  
I have certainly been through a lot in my life.  So there isn’t much that someone could come to me with that I couldn’t understand.  I try my very hardest to keep an objective perspective and give as little advice as possible.  I listen.  I let them talk it out.  Often times–they figure it out all by themselves.  
When I was younger, I wanted to be a psychologist.  I still think sometimes I missed my calling.  But then I get to thinking and realize that maybe I am to use my gift in combination with some of my other gifts.  
If I could have things my way, I’d love to write an advice column.  I would love to receive emails where I could learn all about different people and their different lives and different relationships (and possible relationship issues) and find a way to make their lives a little easier, a little better.  I have an unwavering compassion for people, especially people who are dealing with things in their own relationships.  Don’t get me wrong, I am no expert.  I’m sure if it came to a point where I’d have to measure my knowledge, I’d be blown away with how little I know.  It’s not what I know that makes me good at this.  It’s how I deal.  It’s how I make the person who has come to me feel.  
So keep this in mind the next time you’ve found yourself dealing with something that has left you stumped and at a loss for where to turn.  I am always happy to lend an ear and any words of wisdom to help you through.  I am one hundred percent confidential too.  I have been in too many situations where my confidant spilled my beans to know that confidentiality is the most important part.  I am here to help.  always.
(for anyone who is really having a hard time with something and feels compelled to talk it out, please email me at Joelizabeth23@gmail.com.  I will be happy to meet for a cup of coffee, set up a phone date, or even just share emails.)
I pass no judgement.  
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

