from a little book full of sweet little words [7]

for a long time it had seemed to me that life was about to begin–real life.  but there was always some obstacle in the way, something to be gotten through first, some unfinished business, time still to be served, a debt to be paid.  Then life would start.
at last–it dawned on me that these obstacles were my life!
-Alfred D. Souza
I received the book pictured above as a college graduation present from my cousins last May.  After taking one look at it, I realized that this was the journal I’d been waiting for–the one I’d collect my most favorite quotes in.  Over the last year, I have found quotes relating to life, love, failures and successes that now grace the pages of this beautiful little book.
The quote above is one of my most favorites.  I feel that most of us are always “waiting” for the right time to start our lives.  I, for one, always claim to be in a perpetual state of the in-between–waiting for my life to start.  
I always find excuses not to be focused or determined because “it’s not the right time in my life for x-y-or z.”  I have let many opportunities pass me by throughout my life because I simply thought that the timing wasn’t right or that I just wasn’t ready.  
Over the past few months I have been making a significant effort (though it’s still not nearly the effort I’m really capable of) to “carpe diem.”  I have lived my life dreaming dreams that someone can’t make happen for me.  
…only I can make them happen…  
and maybe now is as good a time as any, right?

About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

