domesticity: devotion to home life [5]

So my mom is out of town for the next two weeks.  And I am poor.  I am so poor that poor is actually an understatement.  So I have been trying to make the most of everything in the house to a)eat and b) fill my time.  Before my sister-in-law left, she told me there were over a dozen & a half eggs in the fridge.  Score!

So last night I decided to make pancakes. from scratch.  They were okay and successfully used 2 eggs.  
Jonathan decided to make lemon squares.  Again, another 2 eggs used.
This morning I decided to search the house to see if we had all the ingredients to make chocolate chip cookies.  we did. So let the baking begin!  (Jonathan claims our kids will be fat–yeah right :))



I have also decided to make egg salad.  Before the end of the week, I will have used all of the eggs one way or another.  I feel a very random “omelet experiment” coming on! :)  
Since I have been forced into this domesticity realm, it has gotten Jonathan & I talking about our future responsibilities within our OWN household once we are married :)  Some things we had already decided on based on what we do best/what we can tolerate.  
It had already been decided that the laundry is to be split up into two different chores.  Jonathan will be responsible for rounding up the laundry, starting it & switching it.  I will be responsible for folding/hanging/putting it away.  This was decided based on our already existing habits on our own.  I’m famous for letting laundry pile up and never doing it.  Jonathan is famous for doing his laundry and then living off of it in the dryer. 
This morning, it was decided that Jonathan will be responsible for rinsing dishes/loading dishwasher/& starting it.  I will be responsible for unloading the dishwasher.  
We have both discovered that we hate mopping.  Jonathan’s remedy for that is that we don’t have any tile/hardwood floors.  sure?  My remedy is to just have it be an alternating duty.  One week it’s my job.  Next week, his.  It’s only fair.
I’m actually kind of proud of myself for making do with what I’ve got.  For those of you who know me, know that I am the queen of eating out.  I hate cooking, and I’m not very good at it–especially if my source of ingredients is limited.  It’s a good thing I’m getting good practice before we’re married.
In the last few days, the wedding has started to seem more and more real.  It finally hit me the other night that in less than one year Jonathan & I will be husband and wife.  We will be living together in our own place.  This is really happening, and I couldn’t be more excited! :)  
I was worried that I wouldn’t have anything to bring for lunches this week (since I’m starting my new job! :))  I realized that we had some chicken breasts in the freezer and all the other ingredients to make my favorite: teriyaki chicken with fried rice & noodles!  (used another egg, too)  I made enough to last me for a few lunches and a few dinners! 
In other news this week, my best friend made her biggest purchase yet!  She finally bought her own car!!  I am so proud of her!  I’m also so happy for her, as this was a huge decision!

Yay for Kelly!  
I am so thankful that Jonathan & I make such a good team, and that we have been blessed with the opportunities in our dating/engaged life to practice good habits for when we are married.  While I know there is no real “prep” for being married or living with someone for the first time, it doesn’t hurt to discuss some of these things.  I am thankful to be marrying someone who is also my very best friend :)  I’m ready to be a good little wifey! :)
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

