"I Hear Her Playing That Same Ole’ Song"

Well.  Today stunk.  I suppose the silver lining to all bad days is their end.  Today I had to take a step back and re-evaluate something I once thought I knew so well.  I guess that’s life’s way of reminding you that you are not invincible, you are not immune.  

What makes a bad day, really?  I guess some would argue that everyone is in control of their moods and the ultimate outcome of their days.  I guess this is true.  If a person really wanted to, if a person was really disciplined, they could probably think their way into having a good day.  I am not one of those people.
When I’m having a bad day, I tend to grow quiet.  I recluse.  I hide away.  I tend to be very introspective and find comfort in few things.  FRIENDS dvds are almost always involved.  I tend to think in circles.  I suppress the overwhelming desire to talk the situation out.  I make deals with myself about not behaving or reacting in a certain way.  I almost always lose.  
Why is it that some people are better at dictating their own moods?  Does that make those of us who simply give into our emotions weak?  Does that make those who can dictate cold?  Is there a happy medium?  
I think, for me at least, those “bad days” that I spend quiet are the ones that help me grow the most.  I spend a lot of time with just myself on my bad days.  Sometimes it’s nice despite the circumstances.  I always end up learning something about myself that I didn’t know before.
Here’s hoping that bad days come few and far between.
XOXO
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

