Balance. Is. Hard. To. Find…

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately about what I want to do with my life.  Don’t get me wrong–I like what I’m doing right now, but I also know that realistically I can’t do this for the rest of my life.  That wouldn’t be respectable.  What is the appropriate amount of time to spend in the “in between?”  Who is really to say, huh?

I’ve been giving a lot of thought to what kind of business I’d like to open some day.  I’ve tossed the idea of having a small writing (journals, specialty pens, etc)/book/coffee shop that I could potentially run on my own for a few years before hiring a few to staff it & take a step back if I’d like.  I’m just afraid of how lucrative something like that could really be with all the Borders, Barnes & Nobles & Starbucks all around.  Who would really appreciate a locally owned small, intimate shop like that.  I guess I’d have to depend strictly on regulars.  
All I know is that I’m not really all that interested in owning my own Planet Beach.  Again, don’t get me wrong, I love the company. I just can’t see myself doing this forever.  With only having been an Asst. Spa Director for a little under 2 months now, I can safely say that I care nothing for having a young staff and ridiculous clients.  I can see myself getting my fill of this in a very short period of time.  
I’d like to wake up every day, grab my computer & head to MY shop where I can converse with my lovely customers who share the same passions as I do and WRITE in my downtime.  It’s a pipe dream.  I know this.
I guess the only one who can make my dreams come true is me.  It’s really hard to make your dreams come true with you’ve got no time left for yourself.  Look at me.  It’s 12:18 AM on a Wednesday night/ Thursday morning & I’m just now barely finding the time/energy to blog, never mind working on a story or being creative.  My brain is too tired from stupid people all day long for creativity.  Balance is hard to find.
I wish I had rich friends who would invest in my future.  Things would be SO much easier that way.   I could stay home and write until I had plenty of works under my belt to throw at the publishers.  Then I’d take my book money & invest it in opening my shop where I’d spend all of my time working and writing and loving it because it’d be my own.  Do things like this really happen for a person who makes little to no money?  How do miracles work?
I know I’ve got the drive, I just don’t have the time.  I know that sounds like an excuse which I’m sure it is, but it doesn’t make it any less true.  
Balance. Is. Hard. To Find…
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

