Tragedy in Carthage, NC


Aunt Louise 1911-2009

On Sunday March 29, 2009, a crazed gunman entered into the Pinelake Health & Rehab Center in Carthage, NC and murdered eight people.  Seven of those eight victims were residents, including my great Aunt Louise.  Aunt Louise is my Uncle’s Aunt.  She was 98 years old and just recently recovering from a stroke.  I may not know all that much about Aunt Louise personally, but I do know how this is affecting my family, especially my Uncle Ray, Aunt Doris & their families.  It destroys me to know that there are these kinds of people in the world–the kind that kill innocent people for absolutely no good reason.  Events like these (the Virginia Tech Shooting, Columbine, etc) leave me with such an emptiness in my heart that is simply indescribable.  I can only imagine the fear that strikes these people before their untimely deaths.  The only comparison I even have to such a feeling is the feeling I had when my University (Appalachian State University) was under supposed attack by a gunman & my campus was put on lockdown.  Though the entire event ended up being a hoax–the fear of the unknown was still very real in the time of the event.  All it makes me want to do is cry.  That seems to be the only true & real response to any of this.  

My heart truly breaks for the victims & their families.  It saddens me that these individuals who had lived such long lives & who were unfortunately awaiting death in their older age had their lives ended in such a tragic way.  It is times like these when it seems nearly impossible to have faith, but it is also times like these that faith is all that can guide us.  

Though the lyrics don’t match the situation exactly, I couldn’t help but thinking of my Great Aunt Louise & all my family members when I heard the following song:

Why did she have to go 
So young I just don’t know why 
Things happen half the time 
Without reason without rhyme
Lovely, sweet young woman
Daughter, wife and mother
Makes no sense to me
I just have to believe

She flew up to Heaven on the wings of angels
By the clouds and stars and passed where no one sees
And she walks with Jesus and her loved ones waiting
And I know she’s smiling saying
Don’t worry ’bout me

Loved ones she left behind
Just trying to survive 
And understand the why
Feeling so lost inside
Anger shot straight at God
Then asking for His love
Empty with disbelief 
Just hoping that maybe

She flew up to Heaven on the wings of angels
By the clouds and stars and passed where no one sees
And she walks with Jesus and her loved ones waiting
And I know she’s smiling saying
Don’t worry ’bout me

It’s hard to say goodbye
Her picture in my mind
Will always be of times I’ll cherish
And I won’t cry ’cause

She flew up to Heaven on the wings of angels
By the clouds and stars and passed where no one sees
And she walks with jesus and her loved ones waiting
And I know she’s smiling saying
Don’t worry ’bout me
Don’t worry ’bout me
Don`t worry ’bout me

Alan Jackson’s Sissy’s Song
Unfortunately life isn’t always fair.  It is all we can do to believe that there are reasons for all things in life.  I pray for the peaceful resting of all of the victims & that their families will come through their mourning with a renewed perspective of life.  Tomorrow is promised to no one so make the most of your today!  Tell the ones you love that you love them EVERY DAY.  Take the opportunities that are given to you.  Don’t put anything off for later, especially if it’s something you will get enjoyment out of!  Make that change you’ve been afraid to make.  Live your life to the absolute fullest!
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

