In the world we write in

So it’s my life’s desire to become a published writer.  I attended Appalachian State University and was awarded a Bachelor of Arts degree in English & Creative Writing in 2008.  Throughout the years I have written several short stories, a handful of poems & started about three different novels which yet to have endings.  
I feel my biggest struggle when it comes to writing a novel is deciding how true is too true.  My best plots and story lines are those that I’ve gathered from real life experiences.  I have a very troubled/twisted relationship with my boyfriend’s mother.  I also have a very loud, animated, large family who often have hilarious series of events occur throughout their lives.  I suppose my fear is if I stick to the “non-fiction/based on true story” route, I will in turn hurt or embarrass the ones who I love the most which would ultimately defeat the entire point of documenting the events.  Although most of my stories would be for pure entertainment, I would fear the documentation of certain events (with the based on a true story angle) would lead those who “star” in the story to believe that my embellishment of the event was my actual interpretation.   
I was taught in my creative writing classes in college to find a writer whose pieces I like the most & mimic their style until I develop one of my own.  I am currently reading a novel by one of my favorite authors:

  Love the One You’re With by Emily Giffin.  
I have found that her style of writing is very clear, precise & witty.  She is a newer author having only published three other novels: Something Borrowed, Something Blue & Baby Proof.  I have read all of her novels, and I have simply fallen in love with her story lines.  
I’ve taken a slight hiatus from writing in the last month due to making a career change.  I have recently left my full-time “big girl job” at the Independent Weekly Newspaper as an Advertising Account Executive to work in customer service at Planet Beach Contempo Spa.  I started as a Spa Consultant & quickly worked my way up to the Asst. Spa Director in only a month.  Though the job has far less stress attached to it, I have found that in the last few weeks I’ve been far to exhausted to focus any on writing (a lame excuse, I know).  The piece I am most currently working on is somewhat of a tribute to my relationship with Jonathan.  Again, this is one of those pieces that I’m struggling with “how true is too true.”  I want to portray the story as close to actuality as possible, but of course for entertainment value some things must be omitted & others must be embellished.  Often times writing what we know is a dangerous game.  I shall tread these waters carefully.
Well, my dear friends, I will attempt to keep as updated as possible with my writing progress.  I hope to use you/this as somewhat of an accountability partner so please become actively involved.  Feel free to ask questions, give advice, or share any stories you might have!
About JoElizabeth

I am a writer who loves to explore all different types of relationships. I am most happy when surrounded by my loved ones and furry children. I've never met a stranger, and I talk way too much. My favorite things to do are eat {preferably at a restaurant} with good friends, write, watch DVDs of TV series {especially FRIENDS}, drink lots of coffee and learn.
This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

